The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

all saint’s day 2014

The weather was good the entire day of All Saint’s Day, that’s why despite the lack of our own tent we survived the afternoon. Really, thanks again to the neighboring family for shading even just half of Ninang Elo and Ina’s graveyard. The paternal graveyard nearby on the other hand was well-shaded as usual.

all saint's day 2014_1

By now, I have a very little recall of the event last November 1 at the cemetery. My recollection wasn’t the same as before and I have to do more off the cuff stories to make this a bit worth reading for, at least to my silent reader. Hello you! 😛 Like the previous years, visiting our dead was like a mini-reunion of our families because we get to see almost everyone who drops by. It was like a get-together at the memorial with food and drinks and loads of conversation. It’s that one time of the year when most of us really go on break from everything and go on a vigil and light candles and offer short prayers for our dear departed ones. I wish the whole maternal kin would be completed one day. And that the paternal relatives would somehow give time at least on this one occasion. Hay!

all saint's day 2014_2

Anyhow, we left the memorial park around 8pm this time. From last years’ the crowd was lesser this time probably because it wasn’t a long weekend, there weren’t too many people loitering around and traffic was bearable as well, thank goodness for that because we made it home easily.

all saint's day 2014_3

Because it was Saturday night and we felt it’s a waste to just stay home and watch horror flicks we drove to Tagaytay to kill time, to have coffee and fries, to do nothing but sit for hours. I’m a sucker for occasions like this because it’s my very idea of loosening up and taking everything slow. You know how my work day sucks back at the office so even it’s just a few hours of break I’ll grab every chance.

all saint's day 2014_4

We love the outdoors at McDonald’s across Taal Vista, it’s like hitting two birds at the same time –eating our favorite junks while embracing the cold, wind-chilled temperature that night. And because social media is too epidemic you can’t hide from people within your network, they’d find you right there and then. Location is on that’s why. So after a few sips of my coffee, some maternal cousins arrived and joined us. They were at a tea house earlier. And since JB and family was scheduled to leave a week after that it became the start of the merry occasion cum despedida for them.

I know I’m just missing one of the favorite cousins by now that’s why this post is somehow dedicated to him again. Seriously, you can’t tell maybe in a few years time Leoncio might consider the greener pasture and decide to go other than I’ll probably have mixed decision because I fear to start at zero once again besides the parental are already old and I guess they’ll need more of me one day. I don’t know with you but committing to living and working abroad never crossed my mind even before, I always felt that it’s all about money and the good life ahead but let’s admit it that not everyone who choose the battle abroad succeeds, they have their own fair share of failure and despair. To each his own, it’s a matter of choice and my life is here.

Well, it was indeed a happy All Saint’s Day! 

 

Leave a Reply

