The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

revisiting uncle cheffy

uncle cheffy_6

The first time we dined at Uncle Cheffy was the day my eldest Winnie met her fateful accident, and the dining experience wasn’t a wow as well, so I thought it was really a bad day then but as I said beforehand I’m giving the restaurant a second try. I was considering that maybe we picked the wrong set the reason why I wasn’t impressed with all the food we consumed.

The second visit happens unexpected while my cousin Rheena was on her second business trip to Manila. She was checked in at F1’s in BGC, so during her recent stay we scheduled another dinner, had two dinner dates with her and Tita Pearl during the first trip but I lost account –the first at Italianni’s and the second in Elias. This time we were joined by another maternal cousin who actually planned this meet up. The original plan actually was to drive all the way to Las Pinas to head bang with 19 East live performers but on a weekday we had to consider work the next day and the possible hangover of alcohol.

I was at first thinking of trying out a new restaurant around Burgos Circle that night, say Barcino or The Distillery but the two seems to be upscale and I don’t want to burden my paying cousin besides I was  thinking of splitting the bill with her. Anyhow, because Uncle Cheffy’s al fresco dining looked inviting that night we all mutually decided there, plus factor was they had beers so we don’t need to hop to another bistro later on for booze.

This time around I made sure I got the right set of food so I won’t regret any later on and impress ze cousins in a way. 🙂

uncle cheffy_7

First to arrive on our table was their famed brick-oven Panizza, I was telling Tita Pearl that it’s very much like the Dear Darla pizza, tho Uncle Cheffy’s version was a bit different because arugula was replaced with lettuce. For the second time, the panizza remained to be a disappointment for me. Sorry but C’ Italian’s version remained to be first on my list. I never liked my pizza or panizza so thin.

uncle cheffy_8

I got us Grilled Prawns and Pomelo Salad, I thought it’s nice to have a good crunch of greens. And it made me really happy, the grilled prawns were juicy and huge and its roasted sesame vinaigrette dressing made its overall flavor. And the serving was generous, two thumbs up for this salad!

uncle cheffy_9

For our main, I ordered 1000g of BBQ Pork Ribs, the order came with Asian Fried Rice which ze cousin Wowie enjoyed. I think it paid well that a second visit is a must because this time I have named Uncle Cheffy’s pork ribs next to Friday’s Jack Daniel’s Ribs, my all-time favorite fall-of-the-bone baby back ribs! ♥ And the price was surprisingly cheap.

uncle cheffy_10

We had a night cap with two bucket of beers and pork sisig and baked mussels, a light convo about families, about careers, just about anything less the drama, less the intrigues, less the issues within the kith and kin. I love days like this when everything seems too normal and fall into place. No family is perfect. There may only be gloomy days but in the end when everything goes like hell, the people who’ll stand by you without flinching remain to be the family. And Uncle Cheffy, you won me this time! 🙂

 

 

Uncle Cheffy
Unit C, Bellagio II, Forbes Rd. corner Burgos Circle, Forbes Town Center,
Bonifacio Global City, Taguig Cit
M. +632659 8030 / 659 8031
 
One response to “revisiting uncle cheffy

  1. Pingback: family weekend | happy b-day P | The Second Month of Winter

Leave a Reply

