The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

pre-christmas meet at lugang café

Maybe because our Piltel days was something very unforgettable and momentous despite the ups and downs, it’s very hard as well to put behind the people I made friends, best of friends to say. And even if age has taken its toll to each of us, and career had its fall down and pick up point, and love life has stopped to some, we remained steady and true to our friendship. No one gets judged or under estimated even else the world turns you down. I’m one happy gal with my P-boys around. 🙂

lugang_cafe_1

During last Friday, Gem and I decided that we meet early this year for the annual get-together ze Christmas party. We see that the timing is perfect this November even before everyone gets busy with parties and occasions. Likewise, we thought it’s nice to hang out once in a while even though there’s no special occasion, we partly missed catching up like the old times. But because of my late notice, okay blame me here folks, Babu and George didn’t make it. They had parties of their own to attend. And surprisingly, when Gem and I thought that it’s just going to be the two of us, Pel showed up. Hooray for his coming!

lugang_cafe_2

I told before that I never liked going to Megamall but these days it’s becoming the venue of dinner dates and meet ups because many good restaurants were opening now at the Fashion Hall, and I couldn’t resist visiting some. And because we’ve set to meet up in Megamall instead of the usual Makati route I picked the restaurant which I haven’t tried yet. Lugang Café isn’t new, actually its main branch is in Greenhills and I remember receiving a supplier’s invite there years ago which I politely declined. Anyhow, that was past and I’m glad I made it right this time because Gem and Pel enjoyed the food and the conversation over it.

Lugang Café specializes in authentic Taiwanese cuisine which I have no idea about, when you say Taiwan I can only account Quickly –taro drink and well the first of the many milk tea franchise. Clueless me! But Taiwan and China and the Chinese people must have done something very good that their franchises and restaurants easily becomes a hit in Manila.

lugang_cafe_3

Like most of the diners that night we had to order the famed steamed Xiao Long Bao, first-grade in my own judgment because of its thin, silky skins and flavorful pork stuffing. The burst of flavors explode in my mouth in every piece, and I think I finished half of the order. Hehehe

lugang_cafe_4

And instead of the regular Hainanese Chicken we went for the Chicken Topped with Scallion and Ginger Oil, and oh my this white chicken is going to be a favorite from now on despite its fatty skin. The generous scallion toppings make a perfect add-on to this incredible delicious poached chicken meal.

lugang_cafe_5

We also had the traditional Roasted Meat Combination with all my favorite Chinese items – suckling pig, pork asado, cold jellyfish strips and century egg. Jellyfish and its gelatinous texture is love!

We had a kind serving of their Golden Fried Rice and House Tea to wash down everything. The little downside, house tea wasn’t free of charge, but for P40 it wasn’t bad either.

lugang_cafe_7

lugang_cafe_6

The conversation was extended even after the sumptuous dinner because Lugang Café was very conducive, I don’t know with you but I love well-lit restaurants and Lugang Café’s chic and stylish ambiance with mirrors and chandeliers is love, love, love.

coffeebean_shangrila_1

Another downside of dining at Lugang Café’s Fashion Hall branch, the store closes early so we had to move to Shangri-la Plaza for that extended bonding. We thought of Starbucks but as usual the coffee shop was packed, so we had to move to its neighboring Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf, which I personally like. Not that I’m dumping SB but sometimes the coffee seems to be bland and lukewarm especially when the queue is very long and ever since they change their pastry supplier the cakes tasted sad. 😦 And Coffee Bean’s baked cheesecake is my ultimate love ♥ but because i’m still full coming from that hefty dinner I passed on the cheesecakes and had iced mocha only this time. We had a night cap at Coffee Bean while also waiting for Leoncio to arrive.

coffeebean_shangrila_3

It’s always a good feel to have the most wonderful friends around, with people who are healthy to be with because the conversation is enriching and the feeling is always communal.

coffeebean_shangrila_1

Merry Christmas Gem and Pel! 😛

 

 

Lugang Café
FASHION HALL, SM MEGAMALL
F Fashion Hall, Bldg D, SM Megamall Edsa cor. J. Vargas, Brgy Wack Wack, Mandaluyong City
M. +63 915 1742243
 
Leave a Reply

