The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

sundate no.34|h&m + linguini fini

Finally a sundate! 

linguini fini_1

For the longest time, I’ve always wanted to dine at Chelsea Market in Serendra but everytime we’re around the area we kept on skipping it right because the place looks packed (weekend nights) and intimidating (?) with all the sosyal diners, I don’t know but maybe because Serendra tends to be posh at night, my comfy get-up on weekend simply doesn’t blend well. Sigh! I’ve been dreaming of dining al-fresco and probably get some sun? I really need to get back to my old routine. Hello, beautiful mornings!  

h&m ph_1

Anyhow, Chelsea Market recently branched out at the new wing of SM Megamall, ze the Mega Fashion Hall, a week ago and I was telling dear self that it would be the perfect retreat after expending my energy shopping at the famed H&M. Oh yes, we can’t help ourselves peeked at the newly opened flagship store, we’ve been anticipating its coming to Manila too other than we never thought the brand was too recognized and loved, among others, that people went on camping even before its opening day. Hilarious! Sorry if some maybe offended but we found it too OA to make that queue when in fact there’s not much really on sale, selected few which were not worthy enough. I was guessing that the long line was because of the promotional thing and everyone was looking forward to get free shopping vouchers or it’s just me and my wrong judgement and that they’re really very passionate about the brand because it’s trendy and cool. 🙂 On the other note, if everyone who lined up really bought a piece or two, SM people must be very happy by now.

h&m ph_3

And yes, I scored a few pieces and my uniform subsidy this year was maximized to its last cent. The price was reasonable; it’s like buying in HK other than because the chaos was too much we’re having second thoughts of coming back. We can wait until the store in Makati is open. So, I thought of Chelsea again after paying the bills and felt the impact it had on my budget for the next two weeks. Hay!

It doesn’t sink to me at all that Chelsea Kitchen would be a big hit in Megamall especially that there were too many new restaurants in tow, so naturally I was surprised that a funnel of waiting diners welcomed us. We tried to ask the crew how soon we’ll get seated but unfortunately he can’t tell, which is understandable, but because he cannot even tell what number was serving that time and how many more was ahead of us I think there’s something wrong. I can’t remain to wait until forever, we left and dismiss the idea, perhaps not our day. We’ll try another time in a while.

linguini fini_2

So as not to kill the mood of eating pasta and pizza, we checked also the newly opened Italian-American restaurant at the 3rd level of the Mega Fashion Hall –Linguini Fini. I read a little of this restaurant because I thought it’s the usual Italian bistro only to find out how wrong I was, they had more to offer and they specialize in fine pasta which were made from scratch, fresh, and they advocate the Nose to Tail Cooking and the Farm to Fork philosophy, so how was that naman di ba? 😀

linguini fini_3

But because I was famished and tired by now, I had little patience to scan everything, I just wanted a good and filling meal. I ordered the pasta dish that simply caught my attention foremost because it had clams, just that and I was taken away.

linguini fini_4

Arthur Ave. Linguini & Clams P355. Fresh clams, garlic, spicy tomato brodo. <brodo is Italian for soup stock>. I love its taste because it’s not too flavorful or overpowering, just right, only that I wish the clams were not chopped and the sauce wasn’t too much, I hate it when my pasta swims on it.

IMG_4714_5

To play safe with our pizza, we ordered Cheese only. For P390 we got a 12’’ thin crust with mozzarella, parmigiano and grana padano. There was nothing remarkable to it really except that it tasted really fresh and it had my favorite cheeses! ♥

linguini fini_8

pickled chili aioli is served for your pizza for that extra kick of spiciness 😛

linguini fini_6

Next to pasta, Linguini’s another signature is the Porchetta. We got an order of the Porchetta Chopped <porketta is a savoury, fatty, and moist boneless pork roast of Italian culinary tradition> P485, slow roasted, fennel rubbed pork belly, chopped with chili mostarda, fennel, focaccia. Its boneless lechon in Cebu and when you speak of lechon it’s a must-order to satisfy my other half’s hungry pangs.

linguini fini_7

*photo courtesy of ze husband for his instragramming purposes 🙂

I love the crispy skin and its overall flavor, I wish we ordered rice. Hehehe. Tho for someone who is not so accustomed with highly spiced dip the chili mostarda was ignored and we ate it on its own.

Linguini Fini is something I’d consider yet again just because the price is reasonable, meaning value for your money and obviously we’ll come back to eat porchetta and rice. Uhm, I was already dog-tired the time we were there but the place was really nice with all the graffiti murals featuring Philippines icons but I missed to take photos and scan the bistro in general, even missed to catch sight of its open kitchen. Linguini Fini is right next to Osaka Ohsho which will be on my next post. And Chelsea Kitchen, will just daydream your Classic Carbonara for now. ♥

 

 

Linguini Fini
Level 3, SM Mega Fashion Hall,
Edsa cor. Julia Vargas Ave., Ortigas, Mandaluyong City, Metro Manila
T. +632 531-3302
http://www.linguinifini.com/en/manila/contact/
 
Leave a Reply

