The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

just girlfriends

12sept2014_1

It started with that red velvet crinkle-looking cookies Rosette offered me that mid-afternoon, yes my long-time friend Rosette is like that when she needs to ask something, when she needs a little por pabor thing about work, etcetera, she’d offer me something or any that I could hardly resist. She’s just naturally sweet like her favorite sweets. 😀

We had dinner to cap off the week that Friday night, it’s like a little send-off to her forthcoming trip to NZ. And I had to recount that it’s the first time in many years that we’re doing this again, just the two of us, like the old times way back my newbie years at the company. And definitely we’re missing the third person, who’s by now kicking the bucket up high. Hello Minerva!  We’ve been missing you especially during holy hours at work. I miss how you’d lit up the mood with just a simple prank. Anyhoodles, don’t miss us too soon buddy. Hehehe.

Right after work, Rosette and I trooped to our go-to place –Greenhills Promenade. It’s just a stone’s throw away from our office building so that saves us from the horrible Metro Manila traffic and all. She allowed me to decide which restaurant but my being loyal to Ayala Malls didn’t help particularly because my favorite bistro restaurants weren’t in sight, Italianni’s closed down for reasons I don’t know some weeks ago. I was undecided so I asked her of suggestions but her preferred Peri-Peri Chicken wasn’t something on my list that night, I thought I’m having chicken on most days so it’s not a good option. There was a mention of Uncle Cheffy, to my delight, but I already booked it for lunch the following day, Tender Bob wasn’t a hit the first time I dined there so I dropped her suggestion once again. We moved forth to Gloria Maris hoping I’d like Chinese, well, we didn’t walked too far because we ended happily in Wafu for some Japanese fare. 😛

12sept2014_2

I’m a big sushi fan but because most sushi’s were made of Japanese rice I can’t eat any better than 3 small pieces, it gets me full fast even before the entrees, so from now on I’ll stick to tamago. I love its sweet taste and its light texture, perfect to eat before the big bowl! Rosette still got us a small serving of California roll which I really liked because it was not the usual California roll with mango, they used avocado and the filling wasn’t the usual crabstick, its one solid roll! We had Don Buri’s each, Rosette got the Oyako Don while I had my usual Gyu Don which I miscalculated, I thought the serving was small for my appetite until I felt really stuffed. I didn’t notice that I already finished my bowl, it was that good and best eaten while you’re engaged in a sensible talk. We even didn’t notice that time had passed by, so quickly.

12sept2014_3

Since Rosette paid generously our dinner at Wafu I offered her coffee afterwards. The standard coffee shop was jam-packed so we had to move from one coffee shop to another until we found ourselves pretty settled at Eric Kayser. We both loved the vibes at Eric’s because it was rather quiet and the place was a bit upscale and latte was good, so good that I had to phone Dadi about the milk brand they’ve been using. California Sunshine Homogenized Milk which you can get in S&R. We maintained a wit chat the entire time, it’s like the real old times except that we’re so much grown-ups now and we talked about the workplace, the people at the workplace, my resentments, some more people including that staff of mine which was just coffee-ing also at the nearby Starbucks that time. I’m thankful that we really didn’t get to sit down at Starbucks that night because I’m not in the mood to pretend we’re okay. I want a good weekender and brushing shoulder with people I loathed wouldn’t do any good for me, it’ll definitely ruin my night and my weekend. Le Sigh!

12sept2014_4

Rosette and I parted ways at close to 11pm already, Dadi had arrived by then to pick me up and I walked Rosette at the basement parking so I can also get my things at her car. It was a girlfriend kind of date I’d like to do again, I love it that I’m with someone who knew me from way back, someone who can somehow read me and someone who I can trust. ♥

 

One response to “just girlfriends

  1. Pingback: table for two | cucina at marco polo | The Second Month of Winter

Leave a Reply

