The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

friends and crispchon

Ma Rica and family went on a short vacay last August and despite her very busy schedule while she was in Manila, she spent most days in her hometown Sorsogon, she never forgot to squeeze a date with us. It was a short meeting over dinner and so “bitin” other than we had fun the entire night.

Whenever friends would come home from abroad it’s me whom they’d contact right away, that even prior to their arrival they’d ask me to set a get-together with people close, those we had a very long affinity. I don’t know If it’s flattering that way or overwhelming that at least these people think I’m always the best person in town to do the job, that they trust me and my resources and even, well, my choice. Choice here means two things –people and place. It’s like I know better who to send invite and ask to go and secondly, they bank on my choice of restaurant to gather around. Nobody complained so far so I’m guessing they loved my preference in the past. 🙂 I set the meet up that Tuesday night, yes on a work day, Ma Rica left me with no choice because she was scheduled to fly back in California the following day. No one can’t say no of course, except for Pel who initially confirmed attendance but eventually had to excuse because he was hold back in the south, at the comfort of his Ayala Alabang abode. Anyhow, my invitees arrived not really on the dot but it was fine, thank you guys, just in time with Ma Rica and family’s coming in.

mesa_0

*photo belongs to Mesa

Mesa Filipino Moderne at SM Megamall’s Atrium was the venue I picked that night, foremost because I thought the family was craving for Filipino dishes, and Mesa’s wide menu choices from appetizer to main dishes would be great. Mesa also had a function room which was ideal for dining groups like us, it offers extra privacy and well, we can laugh our hearts out without being set in spotlight. I was assigned to do the ordering part like the usual, it always works that I checked reviews ahead of time because that saves time from browsing the menu and best is I had recommendations of what to pair with.

mesa_1

I got them Hito Flakes on Spoon to start our plush dinner, followed by Baked Scallops with Garlic Butter and Seafood Bean Curd Wansoy Soup.

mesa_2

mesa_3

Everyone loved the Baby Squid in Olive Oil and Sigarillas (wing beans tossed in coconut milk and shrimp), we also had Crispy Boneless Pata and their famed Crispchon served 2-way. We all enjoyed the latter because it’s like eating cholesterol the healthy way, that Crispchon in pandan crepes was love! ♥

mesa_6

Ma Rica’s kids were a bit picky eater now maybe because they’re used to American platters, the older kid (TP my godson) was even insisting that we dine at Chili’s but later on he settled with that order of Garlic Chicken, which only placed second to Gerry’s according to the little man. I’m impressed how kids these days can really compare taste and quality, really smart huh.

mesa_5

The rest of the evening was non-stop chitchat, it feels good to have these people around, it feels good to recollect our good old days and I felt 20 pounds lighter as well. If only Ma Rica wasn’t leaving so soon we could have planned a mini-getaway and so.

mesa_4.1

As we bid goodbye to Ma Rica and family that night with hugs and kisses, we thanked her as well for the wonderful dinner feast, we’ll be missing her again but not for long because she’s flying back in summer and we’re looking forward to more bonding and quality time and eat outs and fun. Until then, see you again my dear.

mesa_7

By the way, thank you for the pasalubong, you really know me well. 😛

 

 

Mesa Filipino Moderne
2F Mega Atrium
SM Megamall, Ortigas Center
T. +632 4704660
 
2 responses to “friends and crispchon

  1. Jane Flemson September 20, 2014 at 7:16 am

    Ah, crispchon—! I consider myself a balikbayan and I agree that this is a place to take us!

    • january September 24, 2014 at 11:57 am

      crispchon is done same way the traditional peking duck wraps only that they used crispy pork skin and pandan crepes here

      i hope you enjoyed cebu lechon as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

