The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

sundate no.33

sundate no.33_1

When the fambam celebrated Tatay’s 63rd last June in Josephine’s Tagaytay, we listed the neighboring Summit Ridge Hotel next. Tho that “next” took a month to happen, it was well-worth the wait especially that July wasn’t a good month because of the rammasun, and Tagaytay was severely hit.

sundate no.33_2

Like the usual Sundays when we’re home at the parental house, we would drove to The Little Souls to hear the 10am mass. We loved it there because it’s serene and away from the bustling city sound effects. After the mass, the family would normally troop at the ridge to have lunch. We’re the usual family, who loves to enjoy good food and good vibes, and admit it or not a well put together place is vital, and hotel setting is always impressive and seamless.

sundate no.33_3

When we spotted this tarp the last time, we thought it was cheaper and probably a nice change from our usual grind. So without further ado, we visited C2 Classic Cuisine last August 3. Tho we came a little unsure of this dining adventure just because the tarp was removed from the hotel’s façade already, we pushed it anyway.

Guess what? It was my first time to step in at Summit Ridge Hotel. Yes, even if we’ve been frequenting Tagaytay for the longest time I could only name a few hotels I’ve been there to. It’s because we find it impracticable to pay thousands for a night sleep when a comfy retreat –the parental house, awaits our homecoming now and then. Other than, we would obviously enjoy a signature hotel scent in the morning of crisp linen and lavenders, and a breakfast buffet to complement the morning vibe. It’s too ideal you know. I love. ♥  This time around we’re just visiting the hotel to have lunch.

sundate no.33_4

Arriving at past 11am, we’re the first customer by far so we had time to scan the spread and pick a comfy seat of our choice –where lighting and ventilation was mostly considered. Anyhow, the spread wasn’t too many, I expected that already but I think it’s just fair for its P499 price so if you’d complain about it’s being limited get ready to pay double and go off to Taal’s Café Veranda instead.

But what came up a surprise to me and to my family was, C2’s spread were wholly the food we were just craving about. It was like we phoned in the chef and asked him to cook our favorites. We can’t be any happier this time.

sundate no.33_5

The fambam started to lunch literally while I remained in awed and left me eating my greens again. I always thought it’s a nice starter and Kansi (Ilonggo’s version of sinigang and bulalo) was just right to warm my belly. I had a piece of bread, and jam and butter to pair with. Well, it would be a more welcome treat if there would at least two kinds of cheese around –sharp and strong, I suggest.

sundate no.33_6

Bread station

sundate no.33_7

The famed Adobong Balut

sundate no.33_8

Dessert Corner

I wasn’t able to capture the complete spread but I assure you everything is delicious and filling and would make you come back for more. They serve plain rice and bagoong rice, which was more like Thai rice because it had green mango. We all loved this bagoong rice to bits, perfect to pair with anything grilled. They had Gising-Gising (winged bean cooked in coconut milk with shrimp and grilled pork) and Pakbet (topped with daing na bangus). Other hot dishes include Adobong Balut, which the sisteret craved a day before this dining event, Tid-Tad (dinuguan in Pampanga), Grilled Liempo and Morcon. I don’t know with you but I enjoyed my lunch because everything tasted freshly cooked.

sundate no.33_13

From Upper Left Clockwise: My happy plate with everything on it –bagoong rice, gising-gising, pakbet, grilled liempo, morcon and adobong balut, Tid-Tad at puto, my dessert plate  –watermelon, black forest cake and turon de leche + brewed coffee and Kansi

Tho on a second note I hope there’s a fish dish for my old folks who cannot pander too much on meat and cholesterol pounding recipes. Hehehe. For dessert they had fresh fruits –watermelon and pineapple, turon the leche (which was another hit), black forest cake (which the fambam almost cleared up) and halo-halo station. Unlimited refill of drinks was included –four seasons, calamansi, I forgot the other one. And mind you, coffee was available –limitless as well. On top of everything, service was impeccable. All wait staffs were well-mannered and welcoming, most especially our dedicated wait staff, Mr. Warren Cueno. He ensured our experience was pleasant and extra exceptional. My old folks appreciated much the little chat. Thank you for the warm treatment, we left very happy and we look forward in visiting back. 🙂

sundate no.33_9

sundate no.33_10

sundate no.33_14

sundate no.33_11

sundate no.33_12

So the next time you’ll visit Tagaytay, try C2’s Weekend Buffet, you’ll never go wrong anyway with Pinoy comfort food. ♥

 

 

C2 Classic Cuisine
G/F Summit Ridge Hotel
Km 58 Maharlika West, General Emilio. Aguinaldo Highway,
Tagaytay City, Philippines 4120
 
 
 

P.S. Yes, the niece can play the piano so she’d better memorize a piece in prep to our come back 😀

 
3 responses to “sundate no.33

  1. Pingback: random at home | The Month of the Heart of Winter

  2. Chef Rob Angeles October 30, 2014 at 5:56 pm

    Good Day,

    I was actually browsing for some ideas for our Hallowwen Special Event this coming Nov 1st, I thought I’ll be fascinated with the fresh and new ideas google will provide me but what surprised me really was this blog of yours. I had a big smile on my face while reading the article. I was kinda curious co’z I saw a photo of the resto (by the entrance) that was yet to be renovated, but I am glad to tell you our resto is better now in terms of the ambiance. Anyway, in behalf of the C2 and Summit Ridge Tagaytay Management, I would like to thank you a lot for a wonderful blog. We are happy and pleased to serve you during your visit in the resto. Hope to see you come back and enjoy the place, the view, and the food and service as well.

    Thank you and Godbless.

    Regards,

    Chef Rob Angeles
    Executive Chef
    C2/Summit Ridge Tagaytay
    chefrobangeles@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

