The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

rigatoni time

rigatoni_1

Sometimes I think the husband’s erratic work schedule had its own advantage and well, a bit of lessons for me. When he had to work on days I’m off I have no choice but to stay home (most of the time) because I never liked the idea of going out alone. I always find comfort when he is around even if he would just normally stay put in one corner while I’m doing my thing at the mall, except when we’re at the supermarket because he loves to push cart and fill it with his favorite junk food. So everytime I’m left at home mostly on weekends this time, I have no choice but to cook my meals to survive the TV-iPhone-iPad routine. 🙂

rigatoni_2

I love easy-to-prepare meals because I don’t need to spend so much time in the kitchen and because we’re into pasta these days, I sampled yet another light and delicious dinner to date. Can I add it’s a bit on the healthy side?

 

Rigatoni with Sausage + Zucchini

4 cups of cooked rigatoni (al dente)
4 tablespoon olive oil
2 medium size Hungarian sausages
1 garlic bulb
1 medium-sized zucchini, sliced into ¼ inch rounds
4 sliced tomatoes (instead of bell pepper)
1/2 cup sliced black olives
salt and pepper, to taste
1 cup grated parmesan cheese

 

  • Cook pasta in a stockpot according to package direction. Drain, return to pot and set aside.
  • In a skillet, heat olive oil, add sausage and cook. Transfer sausage to a plate and set aside
  • In the same pan, sauté garlic and zucchini until starting to brown, halfway add tomatoes and black olives, and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Add in the reserved sausage then cook until heated through.
  • Pour in the mixture into the stockpot of drained pasta and carefully toss. I suggest use a wooden spoon here. Mix in ½ of the grated parmesan cheese and use the remaining to garnish on top before serving.

 

rigatoni_3

Enjoy immediately!

Next time, I’ll try to use some Manila artisan sausages which said to be flavorful and organic (and expensive). Calling sponsors her ye, please. 😀

 

P.S. Recipe inspiration from capezupas.com

 

One response to “rigatoni time

  1. Pingback: café carmencita | The Second Month of Winter

Leave a Reply

