The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

pyj food collage

My maternal family is a bunch of cook, there’s no question to that. We inherited the same passion from the matriarch who passed over the rich taste to her children and later on to us –the “innovative” grandchildren that we are. I have male cousins whose enthusiasm to culinary and degustation is way beyond the limit, meaning their highly dynamic and strong-willed to chase their dreams yet they frolic like kids while pursuing their heart’s desire, and I envy them for that.

foodcollage_6

A family legacy. My cousin JB foremost is the eldest amongst the male cousins and we’re just a year apart, I’m the eldest grandchild by the way. Way back when we were teens we used to test our culinary skills at their abode and the favorite subject is champorado or chocolate porridge for that part. Then we elevated our cooking a bit and sampled sinigang. I even had several attempts at home doing the same recipe and tho the taste ultimately passed the critics my sinigang always end up too soupy, it looked the one you see on cafeteria. Growing up individually we have mastered some and some remained a miss. JB and his coleslaw, his concoction simply became prominent to family gatherings and it became his trademark later on.

foodcollage_1

*photo via

Now that we have our own families, we’re matured and all, we dream big and high, cooking remains to be a big part of us that’s why we love family gathering and partying and eating certainly is the most look forward to. And if you’ve been reading this blog religiously you’d probably know by now that I wanted a café, if not soon, well someday. 😛 I wanted something that would create a diverse impression to dining customers, a twist like no other. Hehehe. While my dream remains a dream this day my cousin JB is now reaping the month old success of their food shop. The PYJ Food Collage which they co-owned with Jen’s college besties. The food shop is located at my hometown, a few meters away from the town plaza that’s why it easily became a hit to many. The concept is a bit vague because from pasta and quesadillas and wraps they now serve rice meals. Well, for someone like me who’s very particular with standards, I don’t see it as a good move because it depleted the original Italian-Mexican fusion they’d introduced. But maybe I can’t blame my cousin JB for the switch because as a beginner to the food business he’s after on paying the rentals, utilities, manpower and profit of course. So if in case you’d be passing by Indang, my beloved hometown, pay my cousin’s food shop a visit and let him feed you with some of his bestsellers.

foodcollage_2

Cheese Quesadillas. This was my first order of business during the opening last June 1. I won’t dare compare it to Army Navy of course, price wise you just get what you pay for.

foodcollage_4

Pasta Carbonara. My penchant would be biased because I’m not really into white sauce, I tasted it a bit and it tasted okay, it tasted carbonara only that I’d appreciate it better with a good dose bacon and a quality kind of cheese. By the way, the carbonara came with chicken fingers. A real value for your money here.

foodcollage_3

Tacos. It tasted okay other than its price is a bit steep at P50 considering that my office cafeteria can sells it at P30 only.

foodcollage_5

Healthy Wraps. There’s no doubt to it that it became the instant bestseller because it’s new for the townsfolk other than it’s an old story for me. Hehehe. Sorry if this does not impress me at all because I’ve been preparing this at home for the longest time, read here, way back even when South Diet was a hit and blue cheese is love. ♥

foodcollage_7

PYJ Food Collage may have failed to make an impression to me but it was just me okay, there’s too many around town who were wowed and it’s a good hint because I’m all after supporting the business, and I’m equally happy that at least someone from the maternal is starting to steal a scene and make a name in the food business. Way to go JB, impress me on my next visit please. 🙂

 

 

PYJ Food Collage
#546 Mabini Street, Indang, Cavite
 
Leave a Reply

