The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

sundate no.32|tatay’s 63rd

sundate no.32_4

Jun 29. A month after Nanay’s birthday weekend we marked Tatay’s birthday this time, it was another belated celebration because his birthday fell on mid-week and everyone had work except the celebrator of course because he had a valid birthday leave, the additional perks of a government employee. I somehow regret the opportunity I had before, probably if I did pursue my pre-mature career in the bureau I’m now in a more secured post and just the same expectant of a good retirement pay by the time comes. But all because I’m young and eager that time, and the government scene wasn’t yet in my terms I flew back to the city to try my luck. After 18 years I can’t say I won my battle, not yet, I still have a lot of chasing to do.

Back at my Tatay’s belated birthday celebration, we drove to The Little Souls first to hear mass in the morning. I love that Tagaytay’s weather is gradually picking up, the cold breeze is definitely there even at mid-morning. Actually the temperature didn’t go beyond its 24°C daily mean even during the peak of summer that’s why I don’t get it when someone went home disappointed about Tagaytay and complained about how humid it was. Maybe she went on the wrong side of the ridge or probably her normal is way beyond the 37 °C body temperature, I thought I was the only one born in Alaska for that matter (that’s how my friend Minerva always tell me esp when everyone else at the workplace is chilling and yet I’m no way wearing my coat). I’ve been telling it in the past, I love everything in Tagaytay, and one feels solace and quietness particularly if you’d discover isolated places within the city. The mass offered at The Little Souls is one of the things I always look forward when coming home, the homily is solid without any stain of political issues and I guess it’s just right because that’s the very essence why there is a separation of the church and the state. I hope my town folks would realize that.

I just wondered why there’s no healing at The Little Soul’s right after the mass, probably we missed the announcement. Right after the mass we trouped at Josephine’s for lunch, it was a communal choice between my sister and I especially that we haven’t dined there as a family. We were supposed to dine at the upper dining area when everyone else’s order ala carte dishes but we were all taken shortly soon as we checked the Weekend Lunch Buffet. It was a sudden feast to our eyes and we all bet it’s pretty worth it –seize the chance, we’re big eaters so you know!

sundate no.32_1

Josephine’s Weekend Buffet Lunch is definitely grill and more, they had grilled tilapia & pork liempo, hot dishes includes kare-kare, pork binagoongan, glass noodles, steamed mussels, blanched veggies (lady fingers, eggplant & water spinach), fish spring rolls, pork sinigang. There’s a DIY salad station for the healthy eaters and a dessert corner for your sweet fix. Fruit juice is overflowing if you’d ask. The rate is P550+ per head. But since we had two senior in tow, we got theirs discounted and another round of discount because we had a social contact who works at the restaurant and this was the second time he extended his employee discount to us. Thanks Itoy!

sundate no.32_2

sundate no.32_9

We even requested the restaurant crew for a surprise birthday greeting with candle blowing and all. Tatay was surprised of course but being the natural party pooper he is, it was like “fine” and “thank you”. That’s the obvious reason also why we didn’t took the effort to give him a surprise party like Nanay’s, because he don’t have that whoop it up personality unlike us who love the merrymaking and partying. Nonetheless, we love him still and we all look up to him and thank you will not be enough for everything he had done for the family.

sundate no.32_3

Happy Birthday Tatay! 🙂

sundate no.32_10

sundate no.32_5

sundate no.32_6

sundate no.32_7

sundate no.32_8

Sundays and family are synonymous, if only I have the energy and the mean to drive back home every week I’d love to go because I feel belongingness and I’m at my peacefulness whenever I’m home. ♥

 

 

Josephine Restaurant
Km. 58 Gen. Aguinaldo Highway, Maharlika West, Tagaytay City • © Josephine Restaurant 2010
 
Manila Landline: (02) 871.5627
Tagaytay: (046) 413.1801
Mobile: 09159856711
Fax: (046) 413.1802
Email: josephinetagaytay@gmail.com
 
One response to “sundate no.32|tatay’s 63rd

  1. Pingback: sundate no.33 | The Month of the Heart of Winter

Leave a Reply

