The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

sundate no.30|nanay’s 62nd

sundate no.30_1

A week of planning, a day of preparation, a morning of speedy cooking and a witty & bright connivance put together a perfect belated birthday surprise for the matriarch, on a sunny Sunday, it was all labor of love. ♥

Nanay had the blues during her birthday because there was no celebration at home. When I tried to call, her mobile phone was unable to receive my call because the speaker was malfunctioning. 😦 I texted her to ask what she’s cooking, the response was a gloomy “none at all”, I thought she had plans of going out with Ate SAM that day but it didn’t happen for reasons I didn’t bother to ask anymore. I cut my very short convo with her that day thru text because I felt I was adding more injure to her disappointment by then. Little did she know we’re up to something? 🙂

The following day, ze Saturday, after attending Mjane’s wedding Leoncio and I drove hurriedly to Cavite. We need to catch whatever there is at Mahogany market or else we’re dead. On our way I was surprised to receive Che & SAM’s text that they were at Little Soul’s attending the anticipated mass, how come? Tatay was supposed to invite Nanay to Sunday mass so we can freely prepare the morning spread. Now what? Nanay had no idea I was coming home that Saturday night so when she learned about my coming home, she sensed something already. The more when we had to stay very late in Tagaytay, but the truth, we’re just at my sister’s house rushing the preparations. Our only dilemma that time was how we’re going to send Nanay out in the morning so we can set up everything. We had only one person left in mind who’s credible enough to do the extra fun.

Ze Sunday, the 1st of June, I woke up at past 5am already which was an hour late from the original supposedly “call time”. I caught Nanay at the kitchen, wide-awake and preparing macaroni soup for breakfast. I avoided a convo with her and immediately made my way at the bathroom. Tho I know she wondered my bathing so early, I kept mum, besides I really need a good shower after a long day at the wedding, my hair was still gluey from too much hair sprays and I stink after sweating buckets while chopping and cooking the night before. While at the shower I overheard a very familiar voice, the plan must be working, oh yes! But when I stepped out of the shower mother dear was still at the kitchen, naku paano na? We were running out of time, and then the visitor went back again, I was relieved. Finally Kap B (our barangay captian) was able to convince Nanay to go with him to check on something. We told Kap that we needed at least 2 hours so he needs to divert Nanay and go somewhere else.

sundate no.30_3

Soon as Nanay and Kap went out our challenge started out, I had to cook three mains at the same time, the sister had to perfect her pancakes, the BIL had to chop whatever was needed, SAM worked with the drape and set up and P had to look for baby Ysa. The house help later on continued the frying.

sundate no.30_2

The maternals arrived even before we set up the breakfast table so it added pressure to us and chaos to the household, Hay! I was moving double time and after one long breathe tada! We’re down and ready! 🙂

sundate no.30_4

sundate no.30_10

sundate no.30_11

When everyone is around it’s too hard to make a decent photo, right?

sundate no.30_5

So excuse the bad angles here. 😀

sundate no.30_6

sundate no.30_7

sundate no.30_8

sundate no.30_9

I asked everyone to come in their favorite shade of pink so I don’t know what happened to those who did not comply, color blind ba? Ooops sorry for my photo bomber baby B.

sundate no.30_22

Moki’s very own version of PINK 😀

sundate no.30_12

sundate no.30_13

Nanay and Kap were back at 8:30am, soon as she stepped-in the garage I know she felt a sudden jump in her heart. She was at her happiest with all the greetings and singing and of course the buffet spread. 😛

sundate no.30_14

sundate no.30_15

sundate no.30_16

sundate no.30_17

I don’t know what happened next, the maternals were all hungry and they care less, they need their breakfast fix.

sundate no.30_18

sundate no.30_19

sundate no.30_20

sundate no.30_21

sundate no.30_24

sundate no.30_23

To date it was my best sundate ever, one of the best breakfast spree I had and one of the most memorable and exciting event to count. ♥♥♥

When I was little I didn’t get to celebrate birthdays with party and food all the time, I could only remember the 7th perhaps, the 18th wasn’t that biggie, the 25th was more of a family reunion, and my 40th was nothing at all. After my 40th I somehow felt the lost of relevance in marking any birthdays, I was a bit disappointed that my 40th birthday didn’t happen and no one really pay heed to even cook pancit for me, the least they could do. Sigh! 😦 I was decided to ignore all the upcoming birthdays too, it’s just a day and it will pass quietly like any other day. But maybe I was really that gentle and emotional, I can’t stand not to celebrate or do something when their birthday comes. They’re blessed to have me. 🙂

sundate no.30_25

Birthdays are great reminders of the importance of life, its preciousness and all. I always believe that every birthday should be fêted because time is ticking, our life is passing and before you know it you’ll rotten and old.  Everyone needs to celebrate birthdays because it’s simply worth celebrating, make life as exciting as you were younger because your life has value apart from what you have done. Don’t feel old…

“Do not regret growing older. It is a privilege denied to many.” – Anonymous

sundate no.30_26

Nanay, don’t worry about the gray hair or the blurred eyesight or the knobby knees nor the visible wrinkles and discolored skin, it’s way beyond normal still. As you marked another birthday, we thanked the Lord for the blessing of life. We can’t ask for anything more other than good health and a sound mind and body. Thank you for your caring everyday and we all look forward in celebrating more birthdays and Christmases and New Years with you. We love you! ♥

I hope you liked our little suprise and Bea’s gift to you 🙂

 

P.S. Before I bid goodbye to this week, let me thank all those who helped us with the preparations and to all who came to celebrate with us last Sunday, thank you for making Nanay very happy on her 62nd. Leoncio missed the event because of his pestering work which I’m beginning to loathe. You’re missing a lot ‘ney! 

 

4 responses to “sundate no.30|nanay’s 62nd

  1. Pingback: sundate no.30|nanay's 62nd

  2. madjewel June 8, 2014 at 11:44 pm

    wow ang saya and ang sarap breakfast buffet! your mom is lucky to have a thoughtful and sweet daughter like you

  3. Pingback: sundate no.32|tatay’s 63rd | The Month of the Heart of Winter

Leave a Reply

