The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

sundate no.28

Apr 27. It was the typical Sunday, I had errands to run while the husband had work the entire day, and as planned we met merely at dinner time to date around before welcoming the nerve-racking workweek. It’s a must that we go out during weekend and spend some time connecting with the real world a.k.a. shopping mall. 😀

sundate no.28_1

But since we still have to squeeze some time, on that particular day, to window shop for that top-sider he had long been yearning for (yes, we didn’t exactly bought it that day) we were able to sit down for dinner late. Most restaurants at the new wing of Glorietta had already pulled their “Closed” signage and we pinned down at least 2 or 3 that were still open. We’ve been passing Don Henrico’s every now and then but never considered it for the longest time because I find it steep for just the two of us and my recall of Don Henrico’s big plates is better for groups. Talk about days when SAM was growing up we used to frequent the old restaurant at Glorietta 4.

Anyhow, because I don’t want to walk any further and I’m famished by now, we settle on. The new store was very casual compared to the old store which was upscale based on my opinion. The new store had this fast food vibes and disorderly setting –mismatched chairs, compact couch seats (that’s very uncomfortable), the flooring wasn’t impressive as well, I should have taken a photo of the whole area tho you can check out here. It’s far different from the old store which was modish yet homey for my taste.

The food was another story. Because it’s late dinner already I thought of skipping the pizza, we had my usual favorite from Don Henrico’s –Onion Rings, Baked Ziti and Buffalo Wings.

sundate no.28_2

Homestyle Onion Rings. Sweet onion rings, lightly breaded and deep-fried until golden crisp; served with our very own ranch dressing.

My memory of Don Henrico’s Onion Rings was that of a basket full of lightly coated and crispy big slices of onion. So naturally I was surprised when our orders came in, more or less 10 pcs of onion rings which was oily and poorly coated (unevenly cut as well). I was dismayed. For its P170 price, it’s a rip-off! 😡

sundate no.28_3

Baked Ziti. Ziti seasoned with sautéed ground beef, Italian sausage, mushrooms, mozzarella cheese and creamy white sauce. Baked until cheese is bubbly and garnished with red sauce. P310 To Share.

There might be a reason behind this unappetizing serving of pasta and I can only assume that the cook was in a rush because it’s nearly closing or was it me and my current obsession to red sauce and olive oil. I thought I was in the rival restaurant for a while.

sundate no.28_4

Don Henrico’s Buffalo Wings. Traditional upstate New York style tender pieces of chicken wings marinated, cooked to perfection and coated with tangy BBQ sauce; served with their creamy ranch dipping sauce. P390 for 3 pieces.

Probably because I’m by now upset I didn’t pay heed anymore to our Buffalo Wings order. I cannot tell exactly if it tasted the same. I wasn’t interested anymore. 😦

sundate no.28_5

I ♥ Don Henrico’s because it brings so many memories of the past esp its Session Road’s branch other than this recent dining experience didn’t impress me and left my palate in despair. What have you become now DH? Where’s that promise of great food and great ambiance go?

 

 

Don Henrico’s
Glorietta 1
2nd Floor, Glorietta Mall Ayala Center, Makati City
T. +632  511-1542 /  511-8196
 
4 responses to “sundate no.28

  1. Lui May 20, 2014 at 3:51 am

    Hi Elna. Too bad for your DH experience. I will keep that in mind 😦

  2. iyassantos May 22, 2014 at 8:49 pm

    awww… i have a lot of fond memory rin sa don henrico’s. the one naman in filinvest alabang. doon kami natambay back in college. sad naman kung hindi na kasing sarap ang food. :\

Leave a Reply

