The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

a wish come true at flavors

flavors_restaurant_1

My cousin Irish is like a little sister to me, one of the closest too among the maternal side, probably because despite our 12-year old gap I’ve seen her grow, I’ve seen her settled, I’ve been at every stage of her life and probably because she has no biological sister in tow she grew to be extra-clingy with Che and me. Last year, even before the the “ber” months rolled up she requested me to gift her with something not tangible, something she never experienced yet, something I thought was no big deal, no-brainer present –a hotel buffet! I quickly said yes, fair enough I guess because that would excuse me from poking around the mall for that hard to find item.

But after all the depressing incidents with my maternal family last December I felt it’s not timely to grant her Christmas gift at the same moment. I had to delay it. 😦 I had to delay it further in January because it’s our birthday month, as expected we have scheduled dates and eat outs with friends and colleagues. I know she was like losing hope that I’ll defer and defer until its Christmas time again. Hahaha. Little did she know I was also waiting for a good deal to come out so I’ll save a little from this impending treat. 😀

I was at first considering Market Café at Hyatt Regency but it was a bit far flung and the price was a bit steep for my party of four. We’re four because I counted Che and SAM, I was thinking that Irish and I might just bore down and eventually do not enjoy our two-someness. And besides I always see it that the more the merrier. 🙂 I patiently waited for Deal Grocer to offer more affordable hotel buffet until I chanced this voucher for four at Flavors Restaurant in Holiday Inn & Suites Makati. Honestly, I had second thoughts despite its tempting offer. I scanned some online reviews and in some way it doesn’t give me that super excited feeling, I felt it was very basic and ordinary. However, time is running and summer is coming soon and yet the Christmas gift remained in the stars. So to end the story short, I bought a voucher and scheduled our lunch date right away.

flavors_restaurant_9

flavors_restaurant_2

Fast forward to February 15, I met up Che, SAM & Irish at Holiday Inn, I asked them to come earlier to avoid the heavy traffic, the first road reblocking in Edsa was happening then. They were early and super excited thus my coming late was ignored. We arrived at Flavors Restaurant just in time for the lunch buffet at 12noon, a pretty later start if you’d ask me because I’m used to hotel buffets that starts as early as 11am tho it must be the breakfast buffet, it tends to extend on weekends. Since the hotel is very new, its fixtures were very orderly and fresh. I especially love the chairs because it’s wide, it’s ideally designed for big diners like us.

flavors_restaurant_3

flavors_restaurant_4

flavors_restaurant_5

flavors_restaurant_6

flavors_restaurant_7

Flavors’ wasn’t as big as I expect including its spread but none that a good appetizer and dessert can fix. I’m almost agreeing to Jane (of Sugar Spice and Everything Nice) when she suggested and mentioned in one of her posts about half price only for antipasti & dessert station and ala-carte for mains & separate for drinks, I think that would be a great deal and I’m so in for that. 🙂

flavors_restaurant_8

There were few diners dining with us that time, I was assuming that most guests went on a V-date the night before and they were still snoring under the blankets by now. I’d consider it as an advantage anyway. 😀 Che, SAM & Irish started to fill their plates soon as we got seated comfortably, when you do the reservation ask for the window seat so that natural lightning comes in.

flavors_restaurant_10

flavors_restaurant_11

My first happy plate, something that I always look forward –a good mix of greens, maki & sushi & some special salad mix which I do not get to enjoy daily.

flavors_restaurant_13

flavors_restaurant_12

flavors_restaurant_14

The trio happily enjoyed their greens too and sweets in Irish case.

flavors_restaurant_15

 

flavors_restaurant_16

My second happy plate are what I considered mains already –crispy pata from the carving station, lamb stew, cream dory, mashed potato & honey glazed veggies, peppered ham, chicken lollipop and cheese sausage from the kids station.

flavors_restaurant_17

flavors_restaurant_18

Something that makes Flavors distinct from other hotel restaurants maybe the kiddie station, it had dishes very appropriate for the little ones. They even make it a lot more eye-catching with colorful kiddie cutlery, tastefully designed if I may add. We all loved the cream dory here.

flavors_restaurant_19

No drink was included on the buffet, I didn’t bother to ask for anything because that would mean addition on my part, hehehe, and I guess we were served purified water at least.

flavors_restaurant_20

flavors_restaurant_21

I usually ignore the noodle station but for some reason, maybe the lack of choices here, I tried and created my own noodle bowl. Mine doesn’t look appetizing but it was flavorful and filling.

flavors_restaurant_22

I can no longer account what my party had gotten and wolfed down, they have their own phasing, appetizer-dessert-more appetizers-more dessert-mains-appetizers-dessert-appetizers. See, it’s not the normal thing but it’s permissible so long as they enjoyed and most importantly didn’t let the food on their plate go to waste. I have that notion always that most people who ate in buffets waste half of the food because they end up not liking it after getting a half full plate. Please get only what you can eat.

flavors_restaurant_23

flavors_restaurant_24

My very sweet plate –banoffee, pudding, a slice of sponge cake and mini-slices of cheesecake. The cheesecake was the winner of them all because it’s dense, thick and creamy, just the way I want my cheesecake. I went back for it twice, it was that good that I nearly sneaked some slices to my bag for take home. Hahaha. But my sister and I was wondering why it was kept almost unseen at the dessert station, try to look for it at the corner where dried fruits, cracked cookies and other items for dipping were placed. It was almost unnoticeable. There’s also a halo-halo station and fresh fruits to suit your liking.

flavors_restaurant_25

And lastly they have giant pepero which my sister wanted to bring home! 😛

flavors_restaurant_26

Generally we had a superb lunch even with the very limited variety of food, on a second note it wasn’t really cheap even if you have Deal Grocer’s voucher. I’ve been into hotel buffets comparatively cheaper other than the food was overflowing including a wide seafood & meat section for grilling and pasta bar and prime rib at the carving station and assortment of my favorite cheeses. I hope the spread at Flavors would make better because I heard the neighboring hotel’s restaurant café carries a more decent choices.

flavors_restaurant_33

flavors_restaurant_27

flavors_restaurant_28

flavors_restaurant_31

flavors_restaurant_29

flavors_restaurant_30

flavors_restaurant_32

We stayed for a while at the hotel’s lobby to cool down a bit and take pictures of course, no wonder the hotel is packed because of its up to date furnishings, who wouldn’t love to spend a staycation here. Me want! ♥

greenbelt3_cinema

Because it was a bit early for the trio to travel back in Cavite we decided to see a local movie showing at that time only that tickets to all three cinemas (where film was shown) were sold out. We settled for this paranormal romance novel turned movie where dhampir and moroi, and the evil strigoi were casted. Vampire Academy wasn’t really my type of movie but with my very bubbly company it became a good film to see and the subject of our rap session later on. I just don’t know how beef stroganoff became part of our mockery, strigoi and stroganoff rhymes together eh.

greenbelt3_cinema_2

I hope we’ll find ways to do this again. I had fun and I bet each of you had a great day too. 😛

 

P.S. Service at Flavors was impeccable, I just have to add that 🙂

 

 

Flavors Restaurant
Holiday Inn & Suites Makati
Palm Drive, Ayala Center
Makati City

For Reservations:
T. +632 909 0888

 

7 responses to “a wish come true at flavors

  1. Irish Panganiban March 3, 2014 at 9:21 pm

    Ate I’ll take note of that😊 and thanks again for the treat! I really had fun…wish granted😍😄😊 till next time😊

  2. MrsMartinez March 6, 2014 at 10:04 am

    Thanks for updating my link in your side bar!

    xoxo
    MrsMartinez

  3. Pingback: chili’s with friends ♥ | The Month of the Heart of Winter

Leave a Reply

