The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

matgalne korean restaurant

If you’d notice husband and I slowed down our eating habits on weekend, we don’t frequent buffets like before, we don’t go to American restaurants that normally serves big plates nowadays, tho we’d like to think that we’re still young and healthy to consume anything fatty and oily our body whines naturally. Sometime in November last year, husband and BIL went through intestinal distress for days after a hefty dinner at Tong Yang, we assumed it’s the unlimited pork intestines and innards other than they really overfed themselves. Hahaha

matgalne_1

But you know when buffet is as cheap as P399 only, sometimes you can’t sleep right and couldn’t wait to stop and dine there soon. Husband and I regularly pass by Kalayaan Avenue coming from Rockwell and everytime traffic slows down at the façade of this Korean restaurant I couldn’t help but crave for samgyupsal (pork belly) and kimchi. Yes, I’m no pork lover but samgyupsal is a different thing, I couldn’t describe more how it creates a flavorful sensation in my mouth.

matgalne_5

The weekend before Valentine’s week, husband and I decided to visit the place and have dinner, finally I was able to convince him that with its unlimited serving of pork and beef our money will be worth it and that kimchi is a healthier option. We arrived at the restaurant around 7pm and good thing that the parking spaces alongside the building were still vacant. If you’ll plan to dine there I suggest you go early so you won’t worry about being towed.

matgalne_2

Matgalne Korean Restaurant is easy to miss if you’re not too familiar with the place, the signage outside is written in Korean except for the word Korean Restaurant. But if you happen to know Makati Prime Tower the restaurant sits next to it. It’s interiors is bright and welcoming, tho I’d love it better if tables would be place a little apart from each other, talk about a little privacy here. During our visit the restaurant was half-filled of Korean nationals, I’m guessing the food must be authentic tho I can’t really tell because I haven’t been to Korea myself, and the closest I could get is here with plentiful of banchan (side dishes).

matgalne_3

I scanned the spread, it was cleanly plated tho some needs to be refilled. I had some japchae, kimchi, Korean pancake, kimbap and more. Kimchi was so good!

matgalne_4

I had fried rice on my second serving which was so good paired with beef and kimchi, I rolled even some in lettuce with soybean paste and popped it my mouth like what real Koreans do. Sarap! I can live everyday having this, the lettuce put balance to my meat consumption. 🙂

matgalne_6

matgalne_7

Leoncio always find its fun to cook and eat at the same time, so he’s in-charge of grilling everything raw. We had four servings of beef and one serving of pork only. I don’t know but I end up liking their chadolbaegi (beef) more. The thin slices of beef were to die for and shredded cabbage is so good! The spread maybe minimal but with its price I think it’s not bad at all.

matgalne_8

For dessert they have banana fritters and glazed sweet potato. I hope they will give away at least one Melona ice cream bar to all dining customers, honey dew please! 😀

matgalne_9

We left stuffed, I felt a bit giddy, I’m wondering if its protein overload or the oil I consumed from the fried dishes nonetheless I had a wonderful dinner, we had a lovely date night and the best thing –it doesn’t hurt our pocket so much. And for that it deserves a second come back! ♥

 

 

Matgalne Korean Restaurant
4768 Kalayaan Avenue cor. Mariano Street, Poblacion
Makati City, Metro Manila
T. +632 8902949
 
Operating Hours: 11:00 am to 12:00 midnight, Monday to Saturday
 
2 responses to “matgalne korean restaurant

  1. madjewel February 28, 2014 at 5:06 pm

    lots of korean buffet sprouting in the metro and I haven’t tried one pa :/
    the 399 price is really affordable, i hope they won’t increase it like hogalbi in tiendesitas which is 399 before but 699 for dinner buffet now

    • january February 28, 2014 at 5:37 pm

      their lunch is cheaper at P299 only (unli pork belly only), matgalne has a branch somewhere in ortigas which will be convenient to you 🙂 check out soon!

Leave a Reply

