The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

batch 90

stmark90_1

Most would say high school life was the most memorable days in school, far better than the college years. And I couldn’t agree more because I had a very wonderful high school life.

High school memories –classes at the old building, junior and senior years at what is called the “new building”, recess at the school canteen snooping over the very grouchy Mrs. D, foundation days in February’s with shows and booths –horror booth that really haunts me at night, crushing on someone who loves new wave and The Cure, black Bandolino shoes, King Jim notebooks, pilot ballpen, JS Prom, Mr. M’s rugged look and wonder stick, being someone’s bestfriend, school orgs and student council, sky blue skirts, Physics & Trigo –my least favorites, Aquanet, lunch breaks at the old Salazar eatery, leadership trainings, LEARA, field trips in Laguna, recollections, teaching catechism in public schools, sports fest at SVD, community immersion in some depressed areas, COCC, CAT, Kaypee, Ka Torio’s banana cue, flag ceremonies, morning prayers, Ms. S and her complicated Geometry, disappointments, happy times, etc.

Come this 2015 my high school batch will soon celebrate its 25th anniversary and yet we haven’t had any formal reunion so far. And I’m pressured to the nines. 😦 I’ve been organizing small meetings since December of last year to pull together the group once more. It’s pretty hard especially that I’m not really based in Cavite, plus I’ve lost contact with most of our class. It’s a relief that I still got a handful of friends from my high school class who equally look forward to this reunion thing.

stmark90_2

This was December 22 of last year, our first meet up after how many years nga? Too bad I can’t even remember the last time I sat down with them except for Albert and Greg. I went out with them when Elaine came to visit last year. It’s always a good feel seeing old colleagues; it brings back so many memories of those heydays.

stmark90_3

My LEARA ♥, minus Lecel who didn’t make it during the first meet.

stmark90_4

stmark90_5

January 5, 2014. The second meet up happened at our humble abode, I prepared a simple lunch spread for everyone who made it that day. It was a happy feel to see new set of faces this time.

Tomorrow the third meet up will happen at our alma mater dear, I hope that attendance will not disappointment and I hope, this time, something tangible would be thrashed out aside from the unending recollection of how it’s been during our time. I’d love to see you all, in your 40’s. Hehehe… 😀

 

3 responses to “batch 90

  1. Pingback: sundate no.23 | The Month of the Heart of Winter

  2. Pingback: batch 90 part ii | The Month of the Heart of Winter

  3. Pingback: about the long pause | The Month of the Heart of Winter

Leave a Reply

