The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

18 years and more

Quite a few years even before I turned 40 I long stopped the night life, I long stopped partying and clubbing and well, beer drinking. If you have known me during my 20’s you’d probably see me in a much different way because it’s like every single day I had beer in my belly. Hahaha. I suddenly miss again my telco days –laid-back, youthful, spirited and fearless. I have no regrets about anything right now, I love the present especially my weekend dates with the husband other than once in a while it’s nice to muse over with old friends from way back and be merry and carefree once more.

pboys2014_1

Days before my birthday I went out with the P-boys to celebrate two things, one is our post-Christmas get-together and the other one is my birthday. I decided to advance my celebration this year for a change. I had a hard time picking a place foremost because I know they wanted beer in the menu. It’s a must for these guys.

pboys2014_2

I personally picked Tong Yang this year, enough of those hole-in-the-wall bistros at the outskirts of Makati CBD. Hehehe, of course I still love Talyer and its neighboring village only that we need a little variation sometimes and Tong Yang is perfect. And since they’re notorious for coming late I asked them to come at 6pm, at least I have an hour before dinner time to wait for them. But being their old self and literally old fellas they came late as is, so I think I just have to live with it. 🙂

pboys2014_3

pboys2014_4

pboys2014_5

pboys2014_7

First to arrive was Babu, then George followed, Pel came after and as expected Gem showed up so so late, when almost everyone was capping off. What’s new? And he was partly blaming me because my call time was too early at 6pm, oh God now my fault. But no matter how stubborn, and fierce looking these guys they are extremely soft internally, I should know better in our 18 years of friendship.

pboys2014_6

We all had a nice dinner, a filling one because of that eat-all-you-can grilled meat and shabu-shabu, bottomless beer and unlimited scoop of ice cream which they really enjoyed. I guess aging has taken its toll on them too because they now opt for ice cream over beer, a very drastic move for the big guys! 😀

pboys2014_8

*No, I wasn’t feeling drowsy here, napapikit lang but because this photo is worth posting and rare it deserves to be here. 😀

pboys2014_9

Because we felt it’s too early to call it a night after the hefty dinner, we found ourselves in Rockwell Center chilling and coffee sipping. It’s one of the first times I actually sit down with them minus the alcohol and I’m loving it because we got to talk lightly.

pboys2014_10

Whenever we get-together like this I wish we’ll be complete once more, like the old days with Rica, Tata, Ge, Nelson. I sometimes missed those days when we would party until the wee hours; I missed the endless road trips and Tagaytay vacays. I missed the post-mortem sessions; I missed the comfort of just being with them. To my P-boys thank you for the stories, for the laughter’s, for the moral & emotional support, thank you for playing a big role into what I am now.

See you soon!

bdaycake_2014

P.S. Thank you Gem for the birthday cake 

 

2 responses to “18 years and more

  1. Lui January 29, 2014 at 5:21 am

    Oh I miss seeing old friends too. We connect online na lang . . . Had a hard time leaving comments on your blog unlike Sweepy ;-(

  2. Pingback: pre-christmas meet at lugang café | The Month of the Heart of Winter

Leave a Reply

