The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

hey 2014!

ny2014

Because our resident cook for the last 30 years or so had to retire even before the Christmas month (because of poor health and other signs of old age, peace ‘Nay), my sister and I became the official cook of our kitchenette.

ny2014_2

And as customary we visited Divi market beforehand to bargain fruits and veggies other than my extended holiday break after Christmas didn’t advantage because we still have to make the trip on the early morning of Dec 31, ako na ang super busy with plentiful of events left & right. 😀 Since my sister and her two kiddos tagged along we made a really quick round even before the place gets too crowded, made a side trip to Ongpin for lunch and went to S&R in Aseana before we finally head home.

ny2014_15

We had a bountiful of everything from appetizer to main course to dessert; I calculated that if it’s our family only we might have until the second week of January. Actually, we really intend to over stock and be more festive and surpass the previous year other than S&R ran out of Butterball Turkey and we have to think of other alternative. I should have bought my bird days ago before the New Year. Sigh!

ny2014_16

Anyhow, our Media Noche is happening even without a Turkey to carve. And sister and I made sure our menu will be a feast to everyone’s eyes, we’re naturally born to cook and to please your palate. I’m not bragging here, probably one must become our house guest first to attest how appealing our spread can be, I tell ya we’re going to be chef someday soon. 🙂

ny2014_11

Back at our Media Noche spread, since we had baked mac all throughout the season, my oven was like telling me “enough and tell your sister to stop baking & roasting”. Hahaha. But my sister’s culinary expertise improved a lot including her famous baked mac recipe which became an instant favorite potluck food to gatherings. So to save the night and remove the “suya” factor we discard the baking part and made the old-style spaghetti recipe minus the ketchup. We thought it’s perfect for our Texas Style Bar-B-Que Ribs and boy it was!

Here’s a sneak peek of our New Year’s Eve spread,

ny2014_3

ny2014_4

The son-in-laws pork barbeque & grilled pork belly.

ny2014_5

I was trying to copy a friend’s potato salad other than the candied walnuts available at S&R was so expensive so I have to do it without nonetheless my version was palatable.

ny2014_6

Oven Baked Ham

ny2014_7

My cheese platter! ♥ I am so in love with that Tillamook All Natural Sharp Cheddar Cheese. I also had Brie and Queso De Bola, and Kirkland Ancient Grain Crackers, walnuts na lang talaga ang kulang sa cheese platter ko to make it good damn perfect! I promise to get a pack next year. Hehehe.

We don’t have any crustacean unlike the previous years at least we have large shrimps, I wonder how much it would cost me those Alaskan King Crabs I spotted in S&R the last time, I wanted that chili and sweet, next year maybe. During last year’s we also had a whole steamed Lapu-Lapu, my idea, because I read somewhere that it symbolizes prosperity and surplus other than this time we happily had two gigantic yellow fin tuna. Thank you Kuya Romy for those fresh catch!

ny2014_8

Ube Halaya or Purple Yam Jam was cooked overtime, just in time for New Year’s Eve.

ny2014_9

ny2014_10

SAM’s very own Palitaw (called Palutang in my hometown).

ny2014_12

And our ready to eat barbeque ribs from S&R which we oven baked with baby potatoes. 😛

I didn’t splurged on buying a premium cake this time especially that last year’s was a failure because Purple Oven’s Merry Torte collapsed even before I took a decent photo of it, blame the lack of space on the fridge during this occasion, so, this time I only got us Sansrival from Goldilocks, to be safe only to find out that the it suffered the same fate of our cake last year. 😦 I forgot that it was frozen, and it had buttercream, oh my! I’ll be getting a chiffon base cake next time around or better yet get a bigger fridge this year. Hehehe

ny2014_13

And a million more random pics I shoot while waiting for the strike of 12 midnight.

ny2014_14

We’re welcoming 2014 with thanksgiving tho the last part of 2013 wasn’t a pleasant one we’re still hopeful that 2014 will be a better & healthier one. I am personally wishing that it would be a year of new things, new beginnings, new learnings, more work, more opportunities, overflowing love & happiness and world peace. 🙂

 

3 responses to “hey 2014!

  1. madjewel January 18, 2014 at 9:33 pm

    ang dami niyong handa! Happy new year! 🙂

  2. Pingback: 2015 | The Month of the Heart of Winter

Leave a Reply

