The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

sundate no.16

Nov 10. While most of the netizen was glued to the Donaire-Darchinyan fight (late) telecast on national TV, Leoncio and I took that opportunity to drive around our favorite Makati. I’d love to stroll around by foot only that our dream sneakers is still a dream in progress, hahaha, so we have no choice but to use our ever dependable 6 year-old car.

sundate_no.16_1

Since we don’t have any specific place in mind, we drove around Salcedo Village first, I wanted to eat something extraordinary, I mean not the usual fastfood food so we tried our luck. But being Sunday, most restaurants were closed so we cross over the neighboring Legaspi Village. I read somewhere about Rodic’s Diner and its famous tapsilog but because the eatery is within the vicinity of offices it’s no surprise that it’s closed when we got there. Sunday kase, sigh! But Sunday is my favorite day and nothing can hamper my spirit from enjoying what is good and what is yummy. 🙂

sundate_no.16_2

From Legaspi Village we drove towards Greenbelt where choices are plentiful but we quickly and mutually agreed what we wanted for our late lunch. I can’t help but rave about the layers of crunchy wafers filled with choco mousse, cream and mango cubes, certainly a slice of heaven!

sundate_no.16_3

Conti’s Bakeshop & Restaurant at Greenbelt 2 is spacious so we got to seat right away despite the many diners that day and because we’re famished already we sort of over-ordering our food.

sundate_no.16_4

New Zealand Mussels & Mushroom Pasta P230. Fettuccine noodles toasted in sautéed New Zealand Mussels, mushroom and garlic with creamy white sauce. Served with garlic bread. It’s honestly creamy and generous and tasty. The mussels are huge and fresh. I gave two thumbs up for this new pasta dish! ♥

sundate_no.16_5

Garlic Sotanghon P95. Its looks plain boring right but it’s flavorsome. And Nanay would surely approve its taste.

sundate_no.16_6

Hearty Club Sandwich P260. Double decker sandwich of crispy bacon, sliced ham, chicken salad and cheddar cheese on French toast bread. Served with potato chips. I can eat my sandwich anytime of the day and I love it tho I wish Conti’s version is not on French toast because it tends to be oily and unhealthy.

sundate_no.16_7

Probably because I’m hurrying to eat dessert we wolfed down our food at once, evidence were my amateurish shots which I took quickly and away from Leoncio’s fork.

And with so much anticipation, my most-awaited dessert…

sundate_no.16_8

Mango Bravo P155. Layers of crunchy wafers filled with chocolate mousse, cream and mango cubes. Mouth-watering goodness in every bite!

sundate_no.16_9

Black Velvet Cake P90. Layers of moist velvety chocolate cake with cream cheese filling coated with cream icing and sprinkles of dark chocolate. We have to order an extra dessert because I’m not sharing my Mango Bravo with anyone, not even with the husband. Hahaha.

sundate_no.16_10

We were offered coffee at Conti’s but I refused because I cannot give up another love, so after giving our sweet tooth a go we settle later that day at the favorite coffee shop and spend the rest of the evening lounging and musing and rambling on what recently hit our mother land.

sundate_no.16_11

We’re saddened just by the thought of it and even more every time we see hungry and tired souls begging for help on national TV, it’s pitiful to see kids and the old ones especially, and every time a local will discover a body of a relative it’s heartbreaking. I cannot withstand the teary-eyes of my fellow Filipinos and it’s making me guilty big time that while they’re having the dooms of their life I’m just sitting pretty normal and carefree of what had happen, I look carefree yes but deeply I wanted to send help, I wanted to send a little help for those who needs it the most other than I have to save for some family emergencies as well. Now, I’m thinking of saving a portion of my supposed church donation due this month, I just hope those people I made commitment earlier would understand my reasons. At this time I think it’s more important that we share food and water rather than build the house a God.

sundate_no.16_12

We’re praying for Yolanda victims and we repeatedly pray that our country be healed from all of this. I am sending a smile to make everyone feel a little better and heal a little faster. 🙂

 

 

Conti’s Bakeshop & Restaurant 
Greenbelt II, Makati City
Space 11 & 12 Greenbelt II, Esperanza Street, Makati City
T. +632 7560047 / 7560327 / 7560105
M. +63922 8473063 / +63917 5951302
 
6 responses to “sundate no.16

  1. docgelo November 18, 2013 at 7:07 pm

    ahhh! conti’s! it’s been a while since I last dunk my fork at that mango bravo favorite!

  2. Lui November 19, 2013 at 3:36 am

    Hmmm, I love the Turtle Pie but lately I tend to hang out at Banapple. Good thing the art studio is out of the ATC mall or I’d have sugar rush all week.

    Elna, the best is to volunteer at the Pasay Villamor where you can directly help evacuees 😉

    • january November 19, 2013 at 9:53 am

      lui, i’m exactly thinking of villamor. will be checking it over the weekend tho i read somewhere that the operation relief will be running only until this thurs.

  3. madjewel November 22, 2013 at 1:26 am

    I noticed that your photos recently are looking great, with the captions and topview shots

Leave a Reply

