The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

memoirs of lugaw and bbq

I lived more than seven years in the area of Makati because work calls for it, so to say I’m very used to every corner of the city. Back in 1999, my official address was somewhere in Malolos Street, an old house which the owner improved into a studio space. I was living with someone else and later on survived the lonesomeness with a friend. I had most of my twenties and ripeness from this place –summer nights that brought about the unconventional side of me, rainy months that cried and mourned with me and cold days that made me tough, tougher to say, until I moved and pick up the pieces of me. See, I don’t started life as wonderful as I have now, my definition of wonderful here doesn’t mean I’m well-off and doing very well right now, it can be I’m happier or at my happiest now. ♥ But probably I need to thank that someone who caused me pain and heartbreak, thank you for leaving me right because it was an eye opener for me, tho the hard way I made it to my top.

oct152013_15

Anyhow, I’m having some of this recollection because I was back shortly at the area days ago, that was right after our daytrip at Manila Chinatown. Since we took the Makati route our way to Mandaluyong I suggested us to have dinner before completely coming home, I don’t have enough energy and vibe to cook so eating out was permissible. And because I was craving for congee days ago, I thought the congee place at Pasong Tamo would be the perfect spot besides I can’t remember the last time I’ve been there, I was sort of avoiding the place for the longest time for fear that the miseries of yesterday would all come back and haunt me. I’m just taking the precautions because I don’t want anything of today’s gets compromised. 🙂

oct152013_16oct152013_18

Lugawan sa Pasong Tamo was a favorite eatery back then, it’s a few steps away from our apartment and because it’s operating 24/7 we would normally hop there whenever we prefer some light dinner, some hot fix and to solve some late, late night cravings. It’s our even place to go whenever we’re bushed of eating fastfood food around. Just don’t mind that you’re eating side by side with jeepney drivers and in most days with punters from the horse racing event (when PRC was still operational back then).

oct152013_17

Lugaw (rice porridge) is the main chow being offered here, you can have it plain or with laman (beef innards). I always have mine plain with boiled egg and lots of pepper on top while the husband had his with laman. We added an order of tokwa’t baboy (tofu and pork) and bottled soda. I don’t remember exactly the price of each but we paid P85 all in for our orders, dirt cheap! 😀 While our hunger was satisfied with lugaw only you can have rice meals here and take outs. We didn’t stay too long to give way to other diners waiting in queue. Just across was another of my favorite, tho I wonder if this is the same old BBQ stand at the corner of Pasong Tamo and J.P. Rizal which I frequent in the past.

oct152013_19oct152013_20

The BBQ stand has a better location now, it’s no longer a cart alone this time other than the choices and flavors remained very the same. The smell of grilled and barbequed, I loved them and I never stopped, I only slowed down but once in a while I know it wouldn’t hurt if I’ll give it a go. We bought some sticks of pork bbq, pig ears and isaw (pork intestines) to go. It was hilariously delicious even after days of being kept in the fridge and warmed. I do recommend you to check Raulelni BBQ Haus if ever you’ll pass the area soon.

I caught myself amused by how years passed by, how certain things changed or remained as is. I was caught by my thoughts of what ifs. What if it didn’t happen? What is life with the one that got away? Even before anger filled me I shook my head and smile, there was my better half standing in his awesomeness and hotness (hehehe), I don’t need a monotonous someone in my life because I’m worthy for someone who can make me smile and laugh even at his corniest jokes.

To that someone who got away, you just don’t know how many times I waited for you at that corner of a drug store, I’m almost tempted to buy a killer drug to end me but it didn’t happen right because I’m not pathetic the way you see me. I may have forgotten but not totally forgiven if you must know. 😀

 

6 responses to “memoirs of lugaw and bbq

  1. Lui October 20, 2013 at 3:24 pm

    Ooopsy, this is my third attempt to leave a reply. Grrrr!
    I forgot what I said na tuloy! 😉
    Anyway, just dropped by to thank you for your concern and prayers.
    You are always included in mine 😉

  2. MsKathyKenny (@mskathykenny) October 21, 2013 at 6:34 pm

    Love that memoir. Sometimes, its the littlest things that make it worthwhile. It’ not the fancy dinners but the ordinary days spent together or those days that just helps you get by.

    Thanks for wonderful message on my post. You’re right. I need to stop chasing it and wait for it find me the 2nd time around.

  3. Irish Panganiban October 21, 2013 at 7:37 pm

    Aww namen!!!

Leave a Reply

