The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

my singapore food street

Because my supposed Singapore trip early next year will gonna delay until I don’t know when I gave my palate a Singaporean treat last Saturday, the closest I can get at the moment.

mysingaporefood_1

My Singapore Food Street is a Singaporean-inspired resto located at SM Megamall Brideway and by its name alone it’s easy to assume that they dish up none other than Singaporean specialties. It’s previous name Orchard Road probably didn’t hit big that’s why it was re-launched after sometime with a catchier label. 🙂 Oh, you heard me right, I visited my most despise shopping mall for the love of food, actually we got to dine free of charge, so, our trip at the big mall has its own good point. I’m thanking SM Megamall once again for the food gcs I won over IG.

mysingaporefood_2

Anyhow since we arrived at the resto past 3:00pm already, its dining customers were numbered and most of its crews were taking their mid-afternoon break at one corner. I chose us to stay at the window side where we have the view of Edsa, at least I’ve got something to entertain my mood if the experience would turn out bad. Honestly with all the reviews I read online even if it were mostly affirmative I still have my apprehension especially that most of those reviews available online were sponsored events. Don’t get me wrong I have nothing about those renowned bloggers but I’m biased with those personal experiences of paying customers like me.

mysingaporefood_10

And like what I normally do before dining anywhere for the first time I make sure to peek on their menu few days beforehand so it won’t take us too long to decide once we’re there. Pay as you order is the rule, so it really helped that I made a list of our choices ahead. They serve fast like what a normal fast-food should be so I have to commend them for not disappointing us at the onset. The following were served in order,

mysingaporefood_3

Milo Dinosaur P75. It’s a Singaporean invention I found out very recent. It’s simply iced cold Milo with powdered Milo on top. It was refreshing and something I wouldn’t mind ordering once again but let me try the frozen variety on the next visit.

mysingaporefood_4

Hainanese Chicken (solo serving) P90. Eversince the arrival of Singaporean restos in Manila, Hainanese Chicken became an instant hit to everyone except to us because I can no way convince the husband to try it. He wouldn’t eat his chicken cooked like that –white and moist. So, I guess it’s legit to say it’s my first time to try a Hainanese Chicken tho at some point this is very the same of North Park’s White Chicken which I regularly order before. I don’t know how is Hainanese supposed to taste? The serving is plain and boring for me and without the ginger sauce the chicken meat would be bland and all.

mysingaporefood_5

Laksa P185. Its origin is quite unclear but this is quite popular in Malaysia and Singapore. I tasted it first at Eat Fresh and it becomes an instant favorite everytime we dined there. And I was expecting My Singapore’s version to exceed Eat Fresh’ other than it failed, the latter’s version was creamy and its coconut-based curry soup is rich and flavorful.  Even the vermicelli texture didn’t pass to my liking. 😦

mysingaporefood_6

Nasi Goreng Meal with Pork Satay P145. Because I’m addicted to fried rice, any style, I love it but the pork satay needs a little more flavor, sweet and salty to be its best!

mysingaporefood_7

Char Kway Teow P195. A national favorite in Singapore and I’ve seen this many times at Beyond Toxicity because it’s Doc Gelo’s ultimate favorite so I got curious and had to order it here. The husband says it tasted like Phad Thai and I can’t agree more other than I like Phad Thai better because of its peanuts.

mysingaporefood_8

And because we’re using food gcs, I need to order max its P1000 food value so we added an order of Pork Siomai P70 and Lechon Macau P175. I won’t recommend the Lechon Macau for its price and serving, save it for Mr. Liempo or Chooks’ tasty and juicy liempo.

mysingaporefood_9

And lastly because we got the meal free I won’t rant too much anymore 😀 , I only hope they’ll serve the food hot and fresh, it’s makes the food appetizing and inviting despite the lack of this and that. Incidentally I have a colleague at work who sampled this resto that same day for dinner and all she mentioned was so-so, it’s unimpressive and weak. Meanwhile, I expect a more authentic fiery flavor which the Singaporean food is supposed to be. And I know there is more to Singaporean food than just chicken rice and laksa. Ho-hum…

 

 

My Singapore Food Street
2nd Level Bridgeway, SM Megamall
EDSA cor. Julia Vargas Avenue
Mandaluyong City
T. +632 470 4546
 
2 responses to “my singapore food street

  1. Pingback: akiba café | The Month of the Heart of Winter

  2. Pingback: sundate no.13 | The Month of the Heart of Winter

Leave a Reply

