The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

28th Negros Trade Fair

28th_negrostradefair_3

*photo via facebook

“This contest is open to those who can surely attend the lunch event!” (that was the last caption and condition on Ms. Fran’s gastronomic giveaway last Monday). I suddenly check my schedule, its mid-week only and I have work so how can that be? But because I’m the contest addict I don’t have to think much, I joined! And luckily won! 🙂 It was overwhelming and flattering at the same time especially when Penang’s multi-awarded blogger Doc Gelo even congratulated me on facebook.

28th_negrostradefair_2

Fast forward to September 25, 2013 I excused myself to leave early for lunch and put a note as well that I might be coming late in the afternoon. I don’t do this habitually so I was permitted right then and then. Thank you to the boss. But despite my leaving early at 11am in Greenhills I need a traffic-less route to Makati where the event awaits me. Feeling VIP hehehe. I have no choice for goodness sake but to consider the MRT, my third time to ride this year but alone for the first time yet again. You see I don’t normally pass by Edsa, so there’s no reason for me to take the trains unless it’s very necessary like this day. So after a jeepney ride from Greenhills-Edsa, a bus ride from Edsa-Ortigas to Ortigas MRT station and a quick train ride to Ayala I came on time, even a few minutes earlier to Fran’s 11:30am suggested time. I waited a few more minutes outside of the activity center for the husband who apparently mistaken the other event at the old activity center. Hay, was it really the wrong side of the event or it’s your arriving late ‘ney?

28th_negrostradefair_1

Anyhow, a lot of people were already lining up to go in at the trade fair so we lined up as well at the registration area and asked for the supposed people I need to look at. The registration girl referred us to look for Mariel at Domesticity booth, she was somewhere else around the fair but eventually came back to welcome some guests. Ms. Mariel was nice and accommodating and helped us check-in at the lunch area in a breeze. We were actually the first two lunch goers to show off, so I was feeling like everyone’s eyes on us. Who’s these two hungry looking folks? Hahaha.

28th_negrostradefair_4

Negros Trade Fair is the longest running provincial trade fair started in 1985 by the Manila-based Negrenses who were moved by the news of poverty among the sugar farm workers in Negros. The First Negros Trade Fair was organized at the Makati Carpark at the behest of Bea Zobel from Ayala Land, Inc. with goods coming from backyard industries of Negros. Daniel “Bitay” Lacson, Jr., then Negros Navigation President and CEO, shipped the goods from Bacolod to Manila for free. The movement later grew as Bitay Lacson was appointed as OIC Governor of Negros and was re-elected into office. 

This annual trade fair became a precursor for a vision to organize a formal association to consolidate the then fledgling individual producers. The Association of Negros Producers (ANP) was formed and registered in 1988 with the Securities and Exchange Commission, incorporated by the so-called “14+1″ from the fourteen housewives and one gentleman who became incorporators of ANP. From then on, the task of organizing the annual Negros Trade Fair was passed on to the newly formed association. {source: negrostradefair.com}

28th_negrostradefair_5

Now on its 28th year, the Negros Trade Fair with theme Evolving Lifestyles will run from September 25-29, 2013 at the Glorietta Activity Center, near Palm Drive Entrance. It’s open during mall hours, 10AM-9PM on Wed, Thurs and Sun and 10AM-10PM on Fri and Sat. Please note that this is not a shopping event per se but a total family fun experience –the scheduled line up includes fashion show, tea time, cooking demo, an annual fellowship of USLS alumni, photo wall, etc. And there were actually too many items to look at, most are perfect for gifts for the coming holidays –food, gifts & houseware, garments & bag, natural & organic, home furnishings. If not with my very limited time I’d probably have score gourmet food from T-Flavors and some yummy and sweet treats from Virgie’s Home Made Products. Well, I might be visiting back on Sunday, let’s see what’s left then.

28th_negrostradefair_16

It’s Raining Men! Literally it was! Famous Ilonggo men chefs such as JP Anglo of Mushu and Master Chef, Manny Torrejon of Manolo’s, Gerald Montelibano, Fernando Aracama of Aracama, Tom Bascon, and Richard Ynayan cooked for the luncheon event. Each of them cooked a dish using a Negros food product and come up with a “Negros food with a twist” repertoire.

28th_negrostradefair_6

Check out the lunch menu, I took a mental note of Lechon Baka Skewers!

28th_negrostradefair_728th_negrostradefair_8

Each table by the way was styled using Negros products, I especially love the capiz charger plate as it provides a lovely golden glow that is so Christmassy for my taste.

28th_negrostradefair_9

The food, oh we waited a bit which excites me even more.

28th_negrostradefair_10

Organic Vegatable Lasagna by Richard Ynanan, I’m not really fond of lasagna but this one is love at first sight, everything tasted just right and every layer is full of hearty ingredients and cheese –ricotta and mozzarella (I’m guessing now hehehe).

28th_negrostradefair_11

And what makes this dish apart from the usual, they used biscocho as side instead of the usual garlic stick.

28th_negrostradefair_12

Chicken Inasal Confit by Manny Torrejon and Lechon Baka Skewers by JP Anglo.

28th_negrostradefair_13

I was pretty expecting more flavors from the Inasal other than I’m giving two thumbs up for the Skewers. It was tender and flavorful. One is not enough, bitin. 😀

28th_negrostradefair_14

Buko Pannacota with Crushed Barquillos, Baby Sago in Spiced Muscovado Syrup and Crispy Green Saba Chips by Fernando Aracama.

28th_negrostradefair_15

I wowed with this divine looking dessert plate, I always do that, lovely food decorations always amaze and entice me to bits.

The husband and I had a wonderful time, we’ve been raving about the Lechon Skewers until today. Hehehe  

What we missed –coffee and tea while brushing shoulders with the VIPs 😀 and that chance of a lifetime to get a souvenir photo with her Excellency Imelda R. Marcos. She and entourage did not eat lunch with us but she graced the trade fair as her way of showing support to the Negros producers. This is off topic, despite the age Mrs. Marcos still looks beautiful in her terno. And I’m loving the woman for her flamboyancy. 😛

 

P.S. I’m giving another shout-out for Fran of Frannywanny for this chance, many thanks for the bigheartedness! Btw, just this morning I received another blessing, truly, when it rains, it pours! ♥

 

3 responses to “28th Negros Trade Fair

  1. Tina October 6, 2013 at 6:06 pm

    you’re so blessed to have won the contest!! Oooh! 🙂 We went to Negros Trade Fair too, albeit on a weekend – I loved the paella negra, crispy crablets and kansi bought from several of the stores there. 🙂

  2. Pingback: blessed | The Month of the Heart of Winter

Leave a Reply

