The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

sundate no.6

Some months ago I planned a breakfast spree to make a dream come true and…and to give my palate a happy zing that pretty starts in the morning, but up until this day the 9 breakfast places I listed remained fancy and offbeat. It look as if those were impossible to happen, maybe I just craved too much the day I wrote that entry but I’m not giving up, never.

The day I stumble upon Before Nine, the blog, I got hooked and envious at the same time. She has checked out the loveliest breakfast places in and out of town and the more I got so green-eyed with all the breakfast fare she had tried out. She is the real epitome of a breakfast person which I wanted to be. And after trying out one of her suggested breakfast place, I found myself slobbering to another of her breakfast hideaway and so my sundate series was given time today.

zucchero_1

We didn’t mind that there is a southwest monsoon coming today, we didn’t mind that there would flooding our way but I worried a bit that the breakfast place might be washed out by harsh waves just in case the breakwater fails its purpose. I’m just imagining too much tho that never happened even during Ondoy and during last year’s “Habagat”. So you have an idea now that the place we’ve been this morning is to be found at the bay area. 🙂

zucchero_2zucchero_3

Zucchero Café was never heard, so I Googled more of the place but found a very limited entry, maybe because most diners do not blog or do not do IG or maybe it’s too average for them. Well, I don’t really mind that’s why I scheduled this sundate right away.

zucchero_4

At 8:00am the place was already packed with morning people savoring a delicious meal from the buffet stationed at the outer side facing the bay. And because the place is spacious enough (especially its indoor dining area) we easily got ourselves a seat. Oh we picked the outdoor which is nearer the spread. 🙂

zucchero_5

Like his usual routine, the husband went first to scan the spread, I don’t need to because I secretly spied that table next to us and I catch sight of my favorite breakfast fare –tocino!

zucchero_6zucchero_7

So I skipped my usual buffet routine and indulged on my tocino right away –with scrambled eggs, salted eggs, tuyo, tomatoes and garlic rice.

zucchero_8

As if I couldn’t get enough of garlic rice, I went on my second round with rellenong bangus, scrambled eggs and tomatoes. I’m trying to eat healthy here. 😀

zucchero_9

I’m missing the pancakes and waffles but none that a good toast and butter and jam can fix.

zucchero_10

And while trying to digest the carbs, I loaded my tummy with cereals, just another form of carbs I know. Hehehe

I had a bowl of arrozcaldo too which I’m giving a thumb up despite the absence of kasubha –the natural yellow food coloring my folks back in Cavite used to make every bowl of porridge appealing.

Zucchero also offer another of my favorite which is the chocolate rice porridge (champorado) which I gently pass over. Coffee and iced tea is overflowing so don’t forget to sip in every bite.

zucchero_11

The heavy rains hold us back from leaving soon so we had our time, we had our moment, still a beautiful Sunday morning underneath the gloomy skies.

zucchero_12

We’re certainly coming back! 😛

 

 

Zucchero Café
Harbour Square, Pedro Bukaneg St.,
CCP Complex, Manila
T.  632 8467354
 
4 responses to “sundate no.6

  1. madjewel August 20, 2013 at 9:54 am

    wow P185 buffet breakfast looks sulit, i became a breakfast person bec of bf, i can now eat brekkie anytime of the day ;p

    • january August 20, 2013 at 7:49 pm

      i used to skip breakfast too but now i can’t leave the house without anything in the morning. i learned that you should not skip the most important meal of the day. 🙂

  2. Tina August 20, 2013 at 3:38 pm

    wow, you braved the rain for this! 🙂 it became one of my favorite breakfast places because of the place’s “good morning” energy! plus it does not hurt that we have the Manila Bay View. 🙂 Yay, I hope you liked it as much as I did!

    Love,
    Tina

    • january August 20, 2013 at 8:29 pm

      i love the morning vibes at zucchero especially on a sunday, no one is rushing, everything is laid-back so i don’t mind at all if the breakfast spread is limited. 🙂 besides no one can complain with that reasonable fare.

      i look forward to more of your breakfast series. 😛

Leave a Reply

