The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

with my two loves

We drove home on the last week of July and exactly a week ago we revisited The Little Souls Chapel to attend the anticipated mass. It’s supposed to be a couple date for Leoncio and me but sensing that my Nanay wanted to come with us I invited her instantly. I feel lucky that I have a husband who loves his in-laws like his very own; it’s one of the many reasons why I was smitten by his appeal, sex appeal as he claims. Really his being family oriented and his rural values and views makes him exceptional despite his being a Manila boy, as he claims again because he spent his life most in the city. Don’t get me wrong here I have nothing against the Manila Boy only that if you’re someone like me who’s raised from the countryside you could tell the difference. 🙂 The husbandhe’s not godly perfect, he’s flawed and all, he has his own share of shortcomings like many but that doesn’t make him less a person, a husband per se. And despite the fact that he may not be doing well in his line these days, he’s struggling to provide. I know in time ‘ney the little businesses you have will expand and you’ll be big boss of your own. And that you don’t need to worry about work, all you need to worry about is Momi, B and Lucky. 🙂

Anyhow, back at last week’s, after the solemn mass at The Little Souls we drove to Summit Ridge Promenade to have dinner. I’m not really in the mood to eat heavy or rather generously so I keep our options to a minimum. I remember eyeing Classic Savory during our coffee dates at the promenade, Leoncio and I love their chicken and so their combo meals so we mutually decided for the place. Nanay being her conventional self never mind at all where we’re likely to eat dinner. Sometimes I hate her attitude that way because she never had her own choice, her own liking and preference. I’m feeling sorry that at her age she’s at times or probably most of the time swayed by other people’s decision. And everytime this happens I mull over more at our difference.

27 jul 2013-1

For dinner we took two combo meals that’s already good to share by four people. We had chicken, pancit canton, shanghai rolls, salt & pepper spareribs and turon for dessert. I’m glad Nanay liked the chicken flavor which is Chinese-y and its famous gravy that is way different from fast-food chicken gravy. Actually I’m happier at the sight of her enjoying a good meal without worrying the household and even not being cautious about the size of her plate. I know she hardly had ever a break from taking care of the family and the extended one that’s why I wanted to take her out frequently. I know its love and natural for a mother to sacrifice her own comforts to provide comfort to her children, it’s apparent even during her pregnancy, the birth pains of delivering a baby and the motherhood itself but at her ripe old age now I think she won’t look less a mother if she’ll fancy a better life minus the little dramas surrounding her. And probably many of you will disagree with me, I can be generous and all but not to the extent of giving up all I have, I learned to save a little always for myself because I just don’t want to burden anyone during my lowest point.

27 jul 2013-2

And tho Nanay and I remains the complete opposite, I admire her goodwill, I admire her kindness and I hope she’ll be able to appreciate my values too. And at the end of the day I still love hold onto this, 🙂

We make a living by what we get. We make a life by what we give. –Winston Churchill

 

Leave a Reply

