The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

“Buon Giorno” from Tagaytay!

buon giorno! {good day, good morning, good afternoon (very early afternoon), hello}

 

Yet again last weekend was another eventful visit back at home. I took this 3-day off once more to spend more time with the family, to attend invites here and there and to celebrate my two loves birthdays. And to give fairness to everyone who made that weekend extra-special I’m doing a post one after the other.

buon giorno-1

On Saturday afternoon, we (Leonio, SAM and P) met up my cousins at Cliffhouse Tagaytay for Irish post-birthday blow out. It’s a yearly thing that we get to celebrate her birthday only that this time we’re numbered nonetheless it was of the same fun and mirth and generosity. I love cousins who treat me to posh restaurants. Hahaha

Anyhow, prior to our early dinner date with the Villa’s we made a side trip at Mahogany market first to buy veggies and pancit concoctions and SAM’s fruit bearing project, and dried fish (my favorite small tawilis) and ready-to-eat jackfruit which we consumed while wandering at the market place. I know Mahogany’s farm produce weren’t the cheapest and freshest, it’s touristy price and all but it’s nearby and always or probably most of the time open to public even at 12 noon. Well, for one reason this market place is famous for fresh and cheap beef meats. If you come around Tagaytay don’t miss to get a good stack of tenderloins and beef shank. So after completing Nanay’s list we drove down to Cliffhouse and waited for the Villa’s to arrive.

buon giorno-2buon giorno-3buon giorno-4

Cliffhouse was vey new to SAM and P so like any other place they’ve gone first time, they look over here and there, they frolic at the courtyard and enjoyed much the rocking chairs like I did. I don’t really know but those rocking chairs really have its own charm, everyone who passes by can’t help but sit down and rock for a while. Well, there’s this incident that involved the husband and Fire Lake Grill inhospitable guards, if I knew it right away I would probably smash their face and slap off their one day pay and told them to leave at once. I can be that evil and cruel if needed. And because I’m still irate until now, I might do another visit and dine at Fire Lake Grill and make you two feel uncomfortable in front of many including your bosses. Huwag nyo akong subukan because customer is always right! Hahaha

buon giorno-5

Ok, I’ll leave that issue for now. Back at our meeting with the Villa’s, the wait was not too long just enough for some photo ops with the very scenic view. And because we have long planned the venue, which is Boun Giorno this time, we didn’t waste anything more soon as we were all settled and seated. We chose the outdoor dining area because we thought it’s homey and relax, only that by late afternoon the mosquitoes were starting to bite. So be sure to apply insect repellent, tho the staffs were responsive enough to put some mosquito repellent coil (katol in short) at least.

buon giorno-6

Down to our much-awaited chow, it’s not my first time to taste Buon Giorno, I remember we had it once at the office but to my party the resto is very new so it’s no surprise that I have to do the ordering part. I have them to agree for a pasta and pizza combi first and some kiddie meal inclusion which turned out a delicious grown-up meal too.

buon giorno-7

When dining Italian, I always look forward for this complimentary bread dipped in olive oil and balsamic vinegar. I don’t know with you but I love its good taste –syrupy, smooth and sweet.

buon giorno-8

The first to arrive was P’s Mini Burgers and Fries. We were all wowed at how good it looked like. I wanted to get one for myself too.

buon giorno-9

SAM and Von’s Chicken Tender and Fries followed. Don’t be fooled, this too is part of BG’s kiddie meal. )

I got us three different pastas to share,

buon giorno-10

Gamberretti e Funghi Ravioli. Stuffed pasta with mushroom and shrimp filling topped with tomato sauce. The ravioli was too thick for me and the shrimp, well, not the freshest I have to say.

buon giorno-11

Lasagne al Forno. Alternate layers of spinach pasta, ragu and cheese. Not bad but not as good as I expect either.

buon giorno-12

Fettuccine alla Carbonarra. A classic Roman pasta with cream and eggs. This dull-looking plate surprisingly became everyone’s favorite probably because it’s the least complicated amongst.

I also got us two different pizza toppings,

buon giorno-13

New York Pizza. Assorted meat, bell peppers and cheese topping on crisp, crusty dough. It’s topped generously and I love its perfectly made thin crust.

Quattro Formaggi (no photo). Mixture of four cheeses: Mozzarella, Fontina, Parmesan and Gorgonzola. I intentionally got this one for the kids and of course for me who’d settle just by this pizza round with my favorite cheeses. 😛

Drinks that made us dropped Starbucks for a moment,

buon giorno-14

Iced Tea in tall glasses for the kids.

buon giorno-15

Von’s Mudslide Freeze

buon giorno-16

Irish’s Caramel Frappe

buon giorno-17

And my Café Latte

buon giorno-18buon giorno-19buon giorno-20

We wolfed down everything heartily while a good convo remained chatty, full of chismis that is going and happening around. Now you know whose my credible sources are!

buon giorno-21

Everyone passed for dolci (dessert) but not my Leoncio who has this same sweet tooth as mine. That’s the very reason why we fall to each other long ago; we both love the three C –chocolate, coffee and cheese! We got a slice of Cheesecake topped with Blueberry. It was thick but I like, it was cheesy which I love, love, love!

And for the record Starbucks was completely scrapped out that day because we all feel stuffed and heavy, overall Buon Giorno was a good break out from the usual pizza and quesadillas combo we’re all addicted at.

buon giorno-22

A belated happy birthday to Irish and a cheer from this bunch of special people!

 

 

Buon Giorno Caffe and Bistro-Tagaytay
4 Cliff House Tagaytay City, Cavite
T. 046 483-2102
 
2 responses to ““Buon Giorno” from Tagaytay!

  1. Pingback: sundate no.4 | The Month of the Heart of Winter

  2. Pingback: buon giorno, revisited | The Second Month of Winter

Leave a Reply

