The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

homey and cozy coffee place

When you’re at my age you’ll probably need to have that time off to stop and smell the roses once in a while (tho at my case I notice its becoming a regular thing these days). I find it relaxing to drive in Tagaytay, dine in and sit for hours while conversing with the husband. Feeling mayaman paminsan-minsan hehehe. But I guess there’s nothing wrong with it so long as I’m not pestering anyone with my little lavishness.

Last Monday, I went on extended vacay to savor a day out while everyone is at work. I find it peace and quiet to go out as early as 8am, except for the early Monday blues I am so ready to welcome a brand new day. I’ve been planning for so long a breakfast date with the husband but none of those I planned had happen so far, so, it’s one of another first for us based on my recall.

java jazz-1

Our first stop was this quaint coffee shop at Tagaytay-Calamba Road. I learned about Java Jazz Coffee Shop at some blog articles I read sometime last month but because my party always preferred pizza and quesadillas we didn’t have the chance to visit. It’s easy to miss this shop if you’re not too familiar with the place but if you happen to know the church of Ina ng Laging Saklolo and its neighboring T-House it sits right next to it, so, slow down a bit once you hit the two landmarks.

java jazz-2java jazz-3java jazz-4

The place is a revelation of its own especially its dining area. By the way, I mentioned dining area because the place is a lodging house too for those who wish to stay overnight. Tho I already saw photos of it online I was still awed seeing everything on my own –the Sining sa Sahig, which is the main attraction, is something that set this coffee shop distinctive amongst its rivals. And because we have the place by ourselves that time I captured everything unscathed.

java jazz-5

This place really has its own beauty and charm!

java jazz-9

And since we came here for breakfast we pleased our tummies with filling breakfast fare at its very affordable price yet filling size.

java jazz-7

I remember our coffee went first –we both got their house blend Café de Tagaytay P99. I have to admit that I was not really blown away by its aroma, it’s flat. I was expecting more to it but it wasn’t bad either so I guess it’s fair for what you pay for. Maybe I’ll try to order Tsokolate-eh the next time.

java jazz-8

Our coffee pairing was none other than the usual hot pandesal with cream cheese P99, other than my choice you have the option to go for peanut butter, jam and I forgot the other two. Hehehe

java jazz-6

We’re not leaving the place of course without sampling its hot meals, besides you know how I love breakfast, a full breakfast that is.

java jazz-10

Beef Tapa P99 for the husband

java jazz-11

While I enjoyed my Spanish Sardines P99 to its last bite, the serving is quite generous for a single serve. 🙂

java jazz-12

We even stayed even after finishing our hot meals; I love this part because it gives us time to communicate, to talk about everything and anything under the sun. It gives me some unsullied air to take breathes and release the anger. I’m easy like that I just need a good meal to stop thinking about the world. I just need time to restore my senses. And I just need a good company to smile back and laugh it off!

java jazz-13

Java Jazz is a must visit from now on. 😛

 

Java Jazz Coffee Shop
442 Tagaytay – Calamba Road, Sungay West, Tagaytay City, Cavite, Philippines
Tel. No. (046)8602699
Email: javajazzcoffee@hotmail.com
 
 
6 responses to “homey and cozy coffee place

  1. docgelo June 24, 2013 at 3:10 pm

    Art pieces laid on the floor, sardines, bread and coffee in cold weather of Tagaytay? Wow! 🙂

    Incidentally, I just posted a new blog entry about a quaint coffee shop we visited in Malacca but it doesn’t have much on the menu.

  2. Pingback: beating the Monday blues | The Month of the Heart of Winter

  3. madjewel June 30, 2013 at 12:54 pm

    We went here the last time we went to tagaytay but no meals available bec their cook did not arrive ><

    • january July 1, 2013 at 12:56 am

      oh, that’s too bad to hear. actually, i read somewhere a bad experience too that during their overnight stay (at the lodging house) they were locked until the morning because apparently no staff of this shop really stay to watch over and assist guests in case they have other needs. so we’re a bit lucky that Monday because we were readily attended.

      i hope those comments will get into the owner’s attention kase sayang the place, it looks promising pa naman.

  4. Pingback: sundate no.15 (an awful one for the record) | The Month of the Heart of Winter

Leave a Reply

