The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

Mama Always Said…

Life is like a box of chocolates.. You never know what you’re gonna get

elaine's-6

Over the Holy Week I got to watch old films at night, among the heartwarming ones include The Curious Case of Benjamin Button and Forrest Gump. The latter reminded me the lunch date with Elaine three weeks ago. We were having a leisurely walk in Greenbelt after checking out some items in Landmark when we spotted this restaurant at the second level of Greenbelt 3. We’re not that hungry yet but despite that we were like hypnotized to step in and eat.

bubba gump-1

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. was one the restos we’ve talked about in facebook even before Elaine’s arrival. I remember that it’s my cousin JB who really wanted to try this resto so I posted this on my timeline to make him green with envy. 😀

bubba gump-2

Snippet on my timeline last March 22 tagging Elaine and JB.

Tho on a second note I worried about us dining at Bubba Gump, I worried about Elaine’s allergic reaction to shrimps. I don’t want to spoil her vacay if she gets sick. But she insisted that we give it a try and thus she would be ordering herself non-shrimp plates, I wonder if there’s any knowing that the resto was famous for their shrimps. Lemme check 😦

bubba gump-3

We had a hard time making our set, obvious for first-timers, so we were offered twice of their current promos. Anyhow, we’ve settled for pasta, rice and a whole lot more. I told you we’re not that hungry yet. 😀

bubba gump-4

House Specialty Calamari Rings –A seafood lover’s favorite! Deep fried calamari, red bell peppers and pepperoncinis. Served with Dippin’ Sauces. Actually, Elaine ordered it when we’re already halfway of our lunch. The calamari was so tender and flavorful. I love it to bits!

bubba gump-5

Shrimp Rigatoni –Tender sautéed shrimp, rigatoni and fresh spinach are tossed in a creamy sundried tomato pesto cream sauce, and topped with parmesan cheese. I normally love my pasta with seafood and this is now my favorite pasta dish outshining House of Minis’ Gambaretti!

bubba gump-6

Grilled Dory with Jambalaya –Grilled cream dory over a spicy New Orlean’s style jambalaya with tender shrimp and andouille sausage. Elaine picked this without checking the rest of its concoction so I end eating the shrimps on her plate. One thing I realize after having too many meals with Elaine, she’s a big rice eater. Hehehe…

bubba gump-7

Mama Gump’s Garlic Bread Basket. I was asked if I wanted to add garlic bread, I nodded instantly thinking that it’s just perfect for my pasta. But I was surprised to get almost a half-size baguette with lots of parmesan and garlic! I had the other half wrapped.

Now, if you think we had enough you’re wrong because we didn’t quite stop from there.

bubba gump-8

Captain’s Fish and Chips –Beer battered dory. We were pushed to get this big plate because at 50% off (you can avail this by ordering a minimum of P1, 000 already), I thought it’s a very good deal. But we didn’t really touch this one and take out the whole order indeed.

bubba gump-9

The last but not the least offer to us was the Specialty Drinks 2 For The Price Of 1, I got myself the Mama’s Favorite –Kahlua, non-fat vanilla frozen yogurt, chocolate and disarrono amaretto. It was described as “Better than any box of chocolates!” and I couldn’t agree more. 😛 And if I remember it right Elaine got a Mango Mojito –A refreshing Cuban cocktail with a surprising twist of flavorful Mango. Yes, at lunch time she’s on her mojitos.

bubba gump-10

With all the big plates and so much food waiting for us, I realize how we’re so much like a newbie Jollibee customer, saying yes when offered this and that only to find out that he almost ordered half of Jollibee’s. Hahaha…

bubba gump-11

I’d love to frequent Bubba Gump only that I don’t think it’s practical, once in a while would be okay I guess. But really I love the food and I wanted to come back and try their Scampi, Shrimper’s Heaven, the Seafood Jambalaya, their famous Dixie Style Baby Back Ribs and the list goes on and on. Oh my!

bubba gump-12

P.S. Thank you Elaine for the lunch-date! I’m missin’ you now!

 

 

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Unit 219 Level 2, Greenbelt 3
Makati City, 1200 Philippines
T. +632 7575154
 
2 responses to “Mama Always Said…

  1. docgelo April 13, 2013 at 9:58 am

    delicious!!! i wish there’s bubba gump somewhere near here!
    missing greenbelt & hong kong now (it was bubba gump i first saw on our last trip to victoria peak years ago).

Leave a Reply

