The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

coffee alternative

I’m a coffee addict to start at, tho growing up wasn’t exactly like that I think I developed my love for coffee late. At my 20’s I was still doing clerical work at the telecom company, I remember how a normal worker like me spent breakfast, lunch, snacks, and even dinner at work. Brewed coffee was a staple piece of my every meal. Coffee was because it’s free. My regular dose was like 5-6 cups a day and for 3 years it became a habit.

coffee addiction

During my early years at the current work, no more free coffee for me so I have to buy my own. And for a time I used to sell 3-in-1 coffee sachets at work, you know when your regular pay cannot cover all the bills you need a sideline to make both ends meet. My friend Mrs. F and I used to do that at work, we sell not only coffee but chips, cupcakes, instant noodles, chocolates, etc. And because everyone was always lured to drink coffee anytime of the day, I was always tempted to make my own cup too. It’s so easy you know, just tear the packet put hot water and stir.

coffee addiction-2

When Starbucks became affordable for me, I spoiled myself a lot. It became a favorite coffee, the coffee shop became a regular chill out place and each sweet slice took my worries away. Alongside the waist began to get bigger. Can you imagine how much sugar and calorie landmines peppered across each cup? I couldn’t imagine but I couldn’t resist indulging. 😦

coffee addiction-3

It’s too delicious to give up, don’t you agree?

Now, I don’t ask anyone or even myself to stop the coffee habit. Its way impossible to switch overnight and convince people how harmful caffeine is (despite the overly commercial of how coffee can detoxify). And I don’t really urge you to switch to healthy coffee alternatives as well, but I’d like to share here what I found during the Holy Week back in Tagaytay.

luyang dilaw-1

They referred to it as “Luyang Dilaw”, we got to sample a cup of it at the kiosk nearby The Pink Sisters and I was enticed right away by its sweet-smelling scent. This isn’t the regular ginger tea I tasted before but I remember sipping a cup of it back at CHI Spa in Edsa Shangri-la. I even thought it was flavored with sugarcane hence the sweet taste.

luyang dilaw-2

Anyhow, based on the packaging here are the health benefits of “Luyang Dilaw”

–aids in treatment of kidney disorders, leprosy, small pox, diabetes, tuberculosis

–alleviates sore throat, fever, colds and nausea

–treat disorders

–hinder diarrhea, gas pains

–relieves dyspepsia, toothaches

–lower cholesterol levels

If you’d go online and ask Google, there were too many more to discover about its health benefits and how it helped those who had tried it before. I am truly convinced. But at this point I am not truly converted to drinking this only, the coffee aroma remains hard to resist. In time who knows I might be completely switched.

 

P.S. The husband is alternating this ginger tea to his decaf coffee every morning. Well me, I think I’ll enjoy this during the rainy months or rather bring some at the office when ac is freezing cold. 🙂

 

6 responses to “coffee alternative

  1. Lui April 13, 2013 at 12:02 am

    Hi Elna! I’m trying to avoid coffee too and taking dried malunggay leaves as tea drink. It charges my hyper self. Well, I did say I was trying 😉

    Please take the time to catch the ‘Giving Hope’ exhibit at the Ayala Museum, ground floor gallery (open daily except Mondays) extended until April 18 (no entrance fees to this exhibit) because this is the reason I was too busy to update all our ‘drooly’ blogs 😉

  2. docgelo April 13, 2013 at 10:10 am

    i remember “pito-pito” that someone back home used to endorse (was it the late ernie baron?)
    but this one’s a good alternative as it’s a ready mix -saves you the hassle of boiling leaves and of course the buying process from quiapo or somewhere.

    ouch! tinamaan ako sa pagiging coffee addict. it’s additive, isn’t it?
    such a habit hard to break 😦

    • january April 13, 2013 at 10:29 am

      i remember right the late ernie baron. the ginger tea i found tasted different because its sweet and minty, some like it with honey.

      coffee and starbucks they are synonymous, tama hard habit to give-up! hehehe…

  3. madjewel April 20, 2013 at 10:05 am

    I’m on the hunt of ginger tea/brew! i bought a box of ginger brew months ago, but it was too sweet for my taste >< I hope I can find this when I get back to Tagaytay

Leave a Reply

