The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

Ninang again, P’s 6th birthday and the fur babies!

st. gregory the great parish

Leoncio drove me to Cavite on Friday night because I needed to play godmother again, this time to my niece SAM who was scheduled to receive the Sacrament of Confirmation on Saturday morning. SAM is already a godchild, I’m her primary sponsor (together with the ex 😀 ) during her baptism 13 years ago. Time flies so fast and before I knew it she’s now a young lady and that makes me a lot older. Sigh!

moki-jenasam-7

Anyhow, I was prepared early on Saturday because the ceremonial was to start at 9:30am. I was with my sister’s family minus baby Ysa; we met up our cousin Miko whom SAM picked to play Ninong and Jena who’s also Ninang. But because there were too many people including those teens, parents, godparents and even bystanders the church was so crowded and the lineup was a little disorganized. I’m sorry but I really have to comment on church assistants, their hullabaloo doesn’t make sense. I know it’s quite a challenge to manage a big number of people but you could have expected it from the start thus the celebration could have shortened a bit. At my age, it was painful to stand for 3 hours under a very humid weather. I wasn’t prepared to sweat buckets, ang oily tuloy ng face sa pics! 🙂

sam-2sam-3sam-4sam-1sam-5sam-6

And these were the only decent photos I have of SAM’s confirmation.

Right after the event we head straight to my sister’s house for lunch. And because we were so hungry I never took photos of the spread, by the way, she made a yummy potato gratin which became a hit even to the kid’s picky palate. It could have been perfect if she prepared some roasted meat to go with it (as if I can overeat with the red meat hehehe). Amongst the spread I enjoyed the grilled milk fish; I even had it for lunch the following day. 😀

pao's 6th-1

This day isn’t just about SAM’s confirmation, it’s the little boy’s 6th birthday too, so, the lunch spread extends to a filling mid-afternoon snack.

pao's 6th-2

A little birthday party for P!

pao's 6th-3

I was very lousy to get him a toy gift; he could have been the happiest that day. Happy Birthday Baby Boy! 😛

pao's 6th-4

I maybe a bit distant (physically and psychologically) but I love going home whenever there’s an occasion, I don’t want to absent myself as the family get-together, I don’t want to miss even the smallest triumphs, you just don’t know how I love to be part of your everyday.

ate samysapaopaoysa, pao, sam

What I am lucky about is despite the “childless” status I have these three kids around, they remained to be my constant reminder that life remains to be beautiful and wonderful.

And the fur babies,

furbaby Bfurbaby Lucky

… would always be my source of happiness! Amen! 😀

 

P.S. Ate Shen (who’s not in photo) would be celebrating her 10th birthday on Friday, I’m a little worried because her age is getting on her now, she walks slow and sometimes find it hard to stand up. I wish her well and pray for another happy year…

 

4 responses to “Ninang again, P’s 6th birthday and the fur babies!

  1. Lui March 14, 2013 at 4:33 am

    Oh what happy time!
    I love being with family too but sometimes distance does not allow for frequent gatherings.
    Your furries look beautiful! I hope Ate Shen will have a great bday. Sweepy is turning 11 on Monday and the reason he is OK is because he takes VCO (virgin coconut oil) and Glucosamine with the pup Babur 😉 who are all sending you their drooly kisses 😉

    • january March 14, 2013 at 9:40 am

      lui, they only take multivitamins so far and i think i should start giving them VCO too and any particular brand of Glucosamine for the furry folks? pls share the dosage too. appreciate the advise. many thanks!

      p.s. happy birthday to the handsome hound of heaven, the super pinoy dog -Sweepy!

  2. madjewel March 16, 2013 at 8:32 am

    what a brilliant idea for sam’s name, acronymn and short for samantha as well!

Leave a Reply

