The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

reflections

I told you once I was not born with a silver spoon in my mouth, I can only wish, and neither grew up in a high-class milieu. My family is a working class so everything comes from hard labor, I grew up with that set-up, and nothing is instantaneous. But despite life’s difficulties my parents assured a comfortable life for us –which means we have food in our table three times a day, we have a decent home, we have the appropriate clothing during summertime and during the cold months and last but not the least, my parents were able to send us to a university. The latter I consider the most essential of all, because of that opportunity I became what I am now.

In all honesty, I’m not close to my parents even if I was the only child for a long time. I remember my growing up years hiding secrets from them (even until now), other than my being dishonest on certain things I worked hard to please them. It’s not that I always bring home the bacon but I make sure I don’t fall short of their expectations. I bet you know how hard it is to do something you don’t really like but the thought of making them happy is enough for you to stay behind. I know I wasn’t the perfect daughter but I never gave up, I persistently make extra effort to be one.

the parable of the prodigal son-1

Allow me to share last weekend’s reflection; I chanced this piece while spending time with the husband on Saturday night. I have known the parable long ago and in some way it always hits me. At times I feel resentful I can’t desist from putting side by side my spot in the family. I’m not the favored spawn and I have lived it that way. The parents may have said a million times that we got a fair share on everything but conform to reality it didn’t became obvious.

the parable of the prodigal son-2

So how can you blame me if at times (or many times) I feel like on the same shoe of the “older son”. It troubled me yes but I never stopped from asking and praying for guidance. I don’t want hatred to eat me up and destroy me; I want a life free of resentment.

Now, have you ever wonder who you tend to be in this parable?

 

6 responses to “reflections

  1. docgelo March 7, 2013 at 10:34 pm

    i’m a lost sheep myself. no one of us is flawless neither omnipotent.
    we always pray for guidance and forgiveness and blessings; without faith, we’re lost.

  2. Lui March 7, 2013 at 11:08 pm

    Hi Elna! The parable of the lost sheep has so many dimensions that sometimes we get confused and, at worse, get guilty which is the reverse of what the bible meant to do: to bring people closer to God and be inspired. Hmmm, maybe I should blog about this someday 😉

    And now . . .
    From Sweepy: Now you know why this woofy dog does not read the bible 😉

    • january March 8, 2013 at 10:18 am

      be waiting for your inspirational write-up on this lui!

      to sweepy dear: think i should not let our luckydoo read the bible too, he may sense that he’s not the favored one hehehe…

  3. madjewel March 8, 2013 at 8:10 am

    i have 2 younger brothers and considering i’m their only girl, i feel for the “older son” too. Maybe my parents always thinks that since I’m the behave one, I will not lose path and can understand if they put greater attention to my 2 naughty siblings…

Leave a Reply

