The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

St. Valentine’s Day

valentines-day

image copied from here

Others may find Valentine’s Day annoying, boring and “baduy”, maybe I thought of it the same way in the past especially during my unmarried years but as I come to age I realized it may not be as important as Christmases less the trimmings and the lavish gifts but it’s significant in its own. VDay is a day of love, a celebration of the hearts. Though it may sound perfect only for couples, you can actually come up with your very own unique Vday that is inspiring and remarkable.

image copied

image copied

I remember my early 20’s, lovelife was cold as beer zero but I have a bunch of friends to celebrate Vday itself. We would partied hard every Feb 14, we would bar hopped like there’s no tomorrow, we’re each other’s Valentino. And I don’t mind if the crush of my life was dating someone over, hahaha. I know we’re all a little weird then and life is a little weird too. When we find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours, we join up with them and fall into mutually satisfying weirdness that is. I miss my V dates, I miss the Gs, I miss the girls, I miss the rest of the P-Boys, I miss Congo Grill, I miss Gerry’s Grill, I miss our stints at Kampo in West Ave., I miss the road trips. Vday may not be the same for us but that won’t keep me from making merry on this lovely occasion. 🙂

image copied

image copied

My other half had been my Valentino for the past 8 years and I look forward sharing all future VDays with him. We don’t celebrate it grandiose, he don’t go over the traditional flowers and chocolates, we don’t go on a fancy date on a fancy restaurant, we don’t splurge in short but despite the scarcity of those we find time to sit down, have a decent meal and spend time. And I can only wish we have B around to celebrate this love day.

Later we have no real plans, and I might visit the nail salon first before going home, I have a party to attend tomorrow. I’m planning to bring home some take outs, unless some last minute changes happen our V-date would be in front of our old TV set watching our most-awaited teleseryes. For the younger folks, bring it on and go on a date, “Dance like nobody’s watching; love like you’ve never been hurt. Sing like nobody’s listening; live like it’s heaven on earth.”

spaghetti topped with parsley and cream cheese

By the way, I brought a tray of spaghetti at the office earlier. I told them it’s my little treat packed with my labor of love thingy. And oh I went at the office in red today, even asked my colleagues to go with the same. 🙂

   Love puts the fun in together, the sad in apart, and the joy in a heart.  ~Anon.

Happy Heart’s Day folks! 😛

 

One response to “St. Valentine’s Day

  1. Pingback: valentine’s day|2014 | The Month of the Heart of Winter

Leave a Reply

