The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

rekindling friendship?

A week after my birthday I was overly surprised to receive a belated birthday gift from this estrange couple I was once friends with. I don’t know what comes up and they suddenly had a change of heart. 😀

purple oven grandma's-1

D and R were former classmates and colleagues at the university. I’ve known R since day one of school; we became friends instantly because she was all alone like me and the big school was something very new for both of us, well, especially to R who went to an all-girls school in high school. D came into the picture after two semesters (now I’m guessing a little here 🙂  ). All three of us became close buddies in school together with another girlfriend, so that makes us four in our party. We grow to be special friends, always there to hand a hand, I remember how D & R would visit and bug me at my dorm whenever I would absent myself from mind-blowing subjects –Pascal, C+Linux, etc. and ruthless profs –San Gabriel (rest in peace), Austria (he’s not so ruthless after all so long as you have moolah to improve your class card), and I forgot the name of that prof in C. But tell you I still remember the times we would hang-out at U-Belt, we’re regulars of Jollibee and if there’s extra allowance we would spoil ourselves with Pizza Hut’s pizza-all-you-can. That’s how trouble-free our life was. D & R graduated ahead of me because I was not allowed by the university to overload on my last semester, so literally I’m a summer graduate. Probably because mobile phones and emails weren’t available that time, we lost contact. After two years (that was 1996 already), I bumped with R in Makati. She had work at the insurance previously while I was in the telecom business. Except on some occasional bump in McDonald’s during lunches we never get-together like the old days. The next thing I remember was the time I was applying a job at the present company. R and I were taken by surprise to see each other again after 3 years; I learned she got work at the company which will employ me consequently. Of course I was happy to see her again and just the thought of we’re going to work together excites me. We’re good on the first few months, we take lunch together, and we go out once in a while to do some thrift shopping at GH. But everything was momentarily, I don’t know what happened, it’s like waking up the next day and we’re like big strangers to each other. I have to recall over and over again but none that I can remember, we didn’t flight, we have no issues for all I know but things weirdly change between us. For more than 10 years this was a normal sight, we normally crash into each other anytime of the day, we’re used to it, you get a slight smile when we feel like giving one or engage in one small talk when waiting for the lift. I no longer ask questions why the friendship breaks off. I’m too busy to run through on things that will probably make the connection rekindle its spark. And things are better this way I guess.

Nevertheless, at least once in my life I became friends with D & R, besides who know if there would be second chances for us. I’m not closing my doors despite our life’s differences now; we never come to the closing stages of anything so anything could happen anytime. At the moment, I’m just very thankful that someone put forth and breaks the ice.

purple oven grandma's-2

Thank you for the sweet gift! How’d you know it’s one of my favorites? 🙂  And thank you both for giving me a buzz! 🙂

 

3 responses to “rekindling friendship?

  1. Jane January 30, 2013 at 8:23 am

    Hi elna! 🙂 as they say, three is always a crowd. My eldest daughter & I have also experienced this, I think it’s inevitable. One is bound to be closer to the other & you get left out. Pent up jealousy leaves a gap wide open that leads to animosity. I feel for you, my daughter spent her last year in high school crying & frustrated because she was (deliberately or not) left out. I also experienced this lately with my old college bffs, & imagine, at our age we still (deliberately or not) hurt each other’s feelings.

    So yes, there is safety in numbers. It’s good that they reached out to you, but old wounds leave scars, don’t you think? 🙂 Just enjoy the moment. Here’s a big hug for you! >:*<

    • january January 30, 2013 at 11:15 am

      I have to believe that friends come and go and I can only hold on a precious few. Whatever? At least we have our favorite people with us! Thank you for the big hug! 🙂

  2. Pingback: 23 years and counting | The Month of the Heart of Winter

Leave a Reply

