The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

a merry welcome to 2013

NY2013-1

Media Noche in our home is always grand and festive. Probably it’s one of the best occasions we all look forward aside of course from Christmas Day and birthdays. This is the time of the year where I can play master chef which means I’m just around the corner to oversee the whole work flow but not totally in-charge of the cooking and hot utensils (which I hate after getting two serious burns before Christmas Day! Darn!). Anyhow, for this year I added a little touch of Chinese to our set-up. 😀

NY2013-2

I put up two big Chinese Lanterns which I got at Regina’s, I planned to get Chinese Wish Lanterns too only that I was stopped by a recent incident wherein these beautiful lanterns caught some houses on fire. I don’t want to delay 2013 for my neighborhood so I settled with some safe and sane fireworks to welcome the New Year.

NY2013-3NY2013-4NY2013-5NY2013-7NY2013-6NY2013-13NY2013-14NY2013-8NY2013-9NY2013-11NY2013-12NY2013-10

And like the past years our buffet table was heavily filled with fruits, foodstuff and dishes that were truly prepared for the occasion. I love it when food is overflowing! Sorry but I missed so many details this time including the menu card, some photos of the food that was readied, some of my extra garnishing including the delis I bought from Eng Bee Tin and a better photo of the cakes from Purple Oven (Classic Sansrival & Merry Cherry Torte which were both delectable). Probably I was too excited the reason why I was unmindful to document everything nevertheless we had a wonderful time.

NY2013-15NY2013-16IMG_3570NY2013-18

We had a lovely Christmas but we even have a lovelier New Year! 😛

NY2013-20NY2013-21NY2013-22NY2013-23NY2013-24NY2013-25NY2013-26NY2013-27NY2013-28

It was a merry merry night with more people in the house; my sister’s family decided to spend the New Year with us plus my cousin’s kids however, the other two kids missed this event because they went home with their family for the New Year.

NY2013-29

Everyone enjoyed our midnight feast after all the fireworks were lighted out. We may have skipped the many traditions of celebrating the New Year like wearing of polka dots, jumping at the stroke of midnight, banging of pots, and a whole lot more but the spirit of a family merrymaking never fall short as we open our hearts to let in the blessings of 2013.

The New Year is a wonderful start to make our dreams come true, we have plenty on hand and I wish to begin it right at the right time with the right people around. A happy and prosperous 2013 to everyone! 🙂

 

2 responses to “a merry welcome to 2013

  1. madjewel January 5, 2013 at 10:26 am

    my family tend to be festive too for media noche. happy new year! Wishing you a great and blessed year.

Leave a Reply

