The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

crab buffet

As a kid I never liked seafood (which is very understandable), even during my teen and until my late 20’s I hated it. 😦  There’s no bad taste to it but given there’s pork and chicken I would definitely go for it. In particular I disliked shrimps and crabs. If you’d ask why, it’s simple, I just don’t like unpeeling the skin and cracking the legs to get the meat. It’s a lot of hassle and because I’m a slow eater I would likely to end alone in the dinner table. I am that super lazy, I know, but that was me before. 🙂

My memory of huge and fresh crabs were probably in Quezon way back in 2002, sorry but my recall of it was not good by now especially that the person I’m with that time was long forgotten too…hehehe. And the only vivid recollection was that I had an allergic reaction on those crustaceans after wolfing down too much of it. I had swelling of the entire face which lasted for half a day and I have to take histamine capsules for it to recede. It was a bit scary but a couple of years after that episode I became a regular of Dampa sa Libis. And thus, my fondness to shrimp and crabs started thereon, the same time a new and lasting love was found.

Leoncio and I went on a group date many times before we became a couple and those dates happened every Fridays at Dampa. My old colleagues at work can attest to our beginnings but it’s been ages too and even after we got married we always look forward to date nights at Dampa to savor nothing but fresh seafood’s. Along these dates, our love for shrimp and crabs became a fixation. 😛

Because we’ve been dating at night more often than not, the lunch date last Sunday was a little unusual for us. Though we planned it weeks ago we kept on skipping it after giving way to free meals. Anyhow, we finally found time and even if we arrived at the date place an hour late of its opening the spread that welcomes us was still a delight.

The Red Crab Alimango House has been a dream resto for us, no need to explain more as the name of the resto itself signaled gastronomic adventure that’s perfectly fit for our liking. And though the choices for lunch weren’t as good and many compared to the dinner buffet it didn’t disappoint. Besides we are not so after the many viands this time, we’re only after the unlimited crabs. 🙂

Bottomless Red Iced Tea (P99) was served in advance.

After lurking for a minute or two at the buffet spread, I started my lunch with Japanese fare –different types of maki, veggie and orange chicken. I was worried that the Japanese rice would stuff me at once so even if I love to go back for it I snub the idea.

The husband had some fishes grilled for us to share.

And a big bowl of sinigang na salmon & bangus belly!

And the feast! 🙂  While the husband chose his crabs any part, I remained partial to crab legs.

It was so flavorful! My first plate of crab legs 😀

Red Crab buffet includes a taco bar too which at the onset do not appeal to me. But hey, it’s something you shouldn’t miss. I had some different colored nachos mixed with some lettuce and topped with tomato-mango salsa and cheese. In between cracking of legs I munched on this taco salad to cleanse my palate. 😀

At the grilling station, they have fishes and chicken wings (which I sampled above). There’s also a salad bar where you can mix your greens. There were about four viands including the orange chicken, the rest it didn’t capture my interest at all. But of course the highlight of this buffet are the crabs cooked in two ways –with roasted garlic and the other one in chili garlic sauce with label “Crab Maritess”. The most ordered I think because even those guest not taking the buffet (meaning they go ala carte only) would place an order of the Crab Maritess. It’s normal that you peek at other tables, right? Hehehe. But believe me I overheard many guests ordering this crab cooking so I didn’t bother to get a piece of crab with roasted garlic only.

Because I go for Crab Maritess only!

The husband as always has his own share of plates but knowing him I didn’t attempt to interrupt his business. 🙂

For desserts Red Crab has fresh fruits, bite-size pudding and brownies, buko pandan and ice cream in three flavors.

Overall, our dining experience was a hit. In fact I’m not expecting too much because I’ve read some online reviews preceding Sunday and most of them were quite disappointed on the limited spread of food items. In my honest opinion, Red Crab was able to deliver what is expected, of course the limitless crab, at P588+ we find it reasonably priced. And my POV to enjoy the buffet; don’t look for something which they do not offer please.

We’re thinking of coming back soon with Nanay this time, who equally loves crabs like we do! 🙂

 

The Red Crab Alimango House
2nd Floor, Greenbelt 3, Ayala Center, Makati City
T. 7574129/7574716
 
 
3 responses to “crab buffet

  1. madjewel December 2, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    looks like it is worth the price, considering how pricey the crabs can be at other restaurants

    • january December 4, 2012 at 5:31 pm

      their lunch buffet is cheap but the dinner buffet is a little pricey, which is always the case even in other resto and hotels. but i would definitely recommend the place if you want to gorge on crabs…

  2. Pingback: crabby night at The Red Crab « The Month of the Heart of Winter

Leave a Reply

