The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

Thanksgiving Day 2012

Thanksgiving, or Thanksgiving Day, is a holiday celebrated in the United States on the fourth Thursday in November. It has officially been an annual tradition since 1863, when, during the Civil War, President Abraham Lincoln proclaimed a national day of “Thanksgiving and Praise to our beneficent Father who dwelleth in the Heavens”, to be celebrated on Thursday, November 26. As a federal and popular holiday in the U.S., Thanksgiving is one of the major holidays of the year. Together with Christmas and New Year, Thanksgiving is a part of the broader holiday season. <souce: wikipedia> 

 

Here in Manila I guess it’s the rich and middle-class families only who are celebrating Thanksgiving Day concurrently with the Americans and the majority still looks forward to Christmas Day like I do. A tip for those who don’t want the hassle of lengthy preparation and cooking (you know how city living sucks!), most hotels are now offering Thanksgiving Day dinner which extends until Sunday. And for the mallrats like me, Thanksgiving Sale is everywhere. Okay, don’t talk much of the sale; I’m not so interested by the way (not so me, hehehe).

Anyhow, for an average Juan you can pull off a Thanksgiving Day celebration at home in its simplest form. I believe that you don’t need to be a US citizen to mark the occasion besides literally a thanksgiving is essential for the year-round blessing. So while the Americans were savoring casseroles & soufflés dishes along with the star of feast, what else –a stuffed Turkey! The husband and I had it our way.

Coming from the office at past 6pm yesterday, I was thankful that I still have the energy to concoct something for dinner minus the whining which in most cases happens especially if the husband arrived ahead of time.

And though I was left with no choice but to use only readily available ingredients at home and scrap the idea of cooking baked macaroni I was more than pleased that my pasta dish was a hit. Probably that happen easily when you just have tomato and basil spaghetti sauce, some ground pork, mushroom cream, all-purpose cream, bell pepper and cheese.

If you must know I can cook fast, in fact I can join cooking challenge if the measure would be it’s under pressure only, only “that” because I’m so far from being a good cook yet.

But I’ll brag a little here, the husband loves my pasta dish last night as he resembles it to how hotel chef prepares it on the spot. See I’ve got my number one fan approval! Thank you ‘ney! 😛

We could have turkey if the Christmas bonus was credited days ahead but unfortunately it didn’t happen so the whole roasted chicken did the role. I asked husband to buy it on his way home and reminded him not to have it chopped like the usual. I need it whole for this photo op.

 

“If the only prayer you said in your whole life was, “thank you,” that would suffice.” -Meister Eckhart

 

A Thanksgiving Day needs not to wait for November, it could happen anytime at your own free will. Happy Thanksgiving Day folks and enjoy the weekend! 🙂

 

2 responses to “Thanksgiving Day 2012

  1. madjewel November 25, 2012 at 9:52 pm

    i wish we have official thanksgiving too! (additional holiday hihi)

Leave a Reply

