The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

hearty Saturday lunch

Thank God it’s Saturday once again and like the other Saturdays I would love to spend this day at home, I call it my me-time day. It’s the only day of the week I can go online the entire day, but I’m not doing it of course as I have some household tasks to do. Except for the laundry I am in-charge of cleaning and cooking. Before it slips my mind I need to call Nanay to send me her helpers for the annual general cleaning which I need to schedule very soon. And I may need to set aside old pieces of clothes and take it out from our cabinets. We have no plans yet of doing again a garage sale, it’s still October and we still have time to think it over before the very Christmas month of December. Actually I really need to clean up my storage boxes as most of it are just trash. Now, I wonder what to do with those unused gifts I received from previous years. It’s not right to recycle those but I don’t want to keep it for long. Probably if we have a bigger house I can stack everything. Too much to dream on right now but I’ll have things fixed the way they should be. 🙂

Yea, its Saturday so there’s no reason for me to skip cooking; Saturdays are meant for a decent meal. I asked the husband last night to tell me upfront what comes out his mind with this question, what dish do you miss the most? It took him so long to response because he’s considering the fact that it can’t be any pork dish, which I know he loves. I bugged him for an answer and he says Adobong Tadyang, he terribly miss. He’s quick to supply a disclaimer; I’m still not allowed to eat pork meat so he would just buy me chicken thighs which I can cook together with his pork. So we have a deal!

He went early to market to get fresh pork ribs and chicken thighs and despite my longing to stay longer in bed today I woke up ahead of time. I want to get things done as early as possible so I’ll have the whole afternoon lazing around the house.

Just on time for lunch!

My Adobong Tadyang with Chicken Thighs, flavorful and succulent. I added sweet potatoes and some hard-boiled eggs to make it even more inviting.

It’s a sunny Saturday folks, have fun! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

