The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

Starbucks Photo Policy?

These days a camera comes handy as the mobile phone and for a blogger like me it is a necessity. Alongside with it, I take extra cautions in capturing photos especially in establishments I would be trying for the first time. On occasions I am not comfortable to flaunt my cam, I shoot discreetly. And when it say’s no camera allowed, I would willingly deposit my cam or put it back on its bag. However, things came out bad last Saturday night. If you were on my shoes and you’re being stopped from taking pictures what would you do?

 

There’s no doubt that Starbucks is the favorite coffee shops of many, and mind you my family and me are part of that coffee aficionado that frequents this coffee shop everywhere.

I cut the Starbucks store logo in photo

However, something happened that made me think a second. In fact I almost walk out of Starbucks because of it. I don’t know if it’s part of the store policy or SB worldwide but still for the very first time I felt bad while sipping a favorite latte. Actually, it was husband who was stopped by the security guard while taking photos of me and my niece SAM at Starbucks Rockwell. I didn’t notice the stoppage at first until husband told nicely the security guard that the logo was not part of the picture. Sorry but I don’t understand at all the warning.

We’ve been to countless branches of Starbucks and to document our visit we always have photos, so, I have no idea that such policy exist. How come nobody stop us from doing it before? Was those SB branches are just too permissive? It confuses me especially when no valid explanation was given why it was not allowed in the first place. I know asking a security guard would be pointless (sorry guys, I didn’t intend to demean the job), but most if not all security guards would always tell that they are simply following orders. SG is like androids for me 😦 . I hope SGs are briefed why it was not allowed at all so they can appropriately deal with it. Okay, I should have called the attention of baristas or even the store manager to seek out clarification but I didn’t, maybe because it was almost midnight then and I felt ready to retire not wanting any dispute after all. Nevertheless, I still need clearing up as this may happen again, so, I go for Google.

And found out that yes there was a Starbucks Photo Policy but if it’s global or not, I still have to probe. I find this blog post helpful in some way –Time to clear up the confusion over the Starbucks photography policy by starbucksmelody.com.

Customers may take photographs for personal use while in our stores.

Members of the media may not take photographs or film in store without permission from Starbucks Media Relations.

 

Anyhow, I still need to get info from the local folks. And please, can someone help define the Starbucks in-store photo policy?

I suppose you don’t want to be the next person who would be warned and disallowed. It’s not a wonderful feel I tell you 😦 .

 

 

2 responses to “Starbucks Photo Policy?

  1. docgelo August 27, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    this one’s a heads up, ms. elna. thank you for posting this.
    baka gutom lang si manong sekyu or di nga sya briefed on policies etc…

    in my humble opinion, establishments,big or small anywhere, should even be grateful for bloggers like us who take efforts (without pay or anything) to blog their food, places, and whatnot.

Leave a Reply

