The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

Fr. Reddy, you will be missed!

Today Fr. Redentor S. Corpuz or Fr. Reddy to many will be laid to his final resting place in Imus, Cavite after his passing way on Aug 5.

He turned 65yo last August 1 and it was a shock for everyone when he died few days after 😦 .

 

Who is Fr. Reddy?

He is from San Jose Seminary, Ateneo de Manila University Batch 72

To Bishop Chito Tagle, his bishop and fellow Josefino, “Fr. Reddy was one of the best Josefino Alumni and an outstanding much loved diocesan priest just turned 65 years old three days ago.”  <source: www.sanjoseseminary.org>

He was the Superintendent and Director of Catholic Schools in Cavite at the time of his death

And for me Fr. Reddy is an icon of strength, a real “father” to many whose life has been changed, including my friend B.

 

My short recollection of Fr. Reddy,

Since my Nanay had been a former lecturer at Saint Gregory Academy and I used to tag along with her in campus, I had quite a few encounters with him as a kid. Though I can no longer recall any significant meeting with Fr. Reddy, his image of godly had inspire me. His gentle yet firm tone sound pious for me.

On Christmas Days, my family would pay him a visit at St. John Nepomucene Parish in Alfonso, Cavite where he served as parish priest for a long time.

When I went to the same academy in high school the more I came to know Fr. Reddy. He isn’t only the school administrator but more so, a leader of his own league. I account to him my academic potentials and leadership as I have been always part of the school delegations on summer camps and workshops. The school programs, which Fr. Reddy spent remarkable time and effort had been nurturing to all Gregorian’s. Yet, at this elevation Fr. Reddy continue to reach out.

Fr. Reddy’s connection to CEAP and other prestigious universities gave opportunities to fellow Gregorian’s getting hold of scholarship on college education. I wonder why I wasn’t given one, noh?  Kiddin’ aside, the favor was mostly enjoyed by deprived students during our time.

Remember my friend B? Yea, I told you so B was one of Fr. Reddy’s adopted. B was homeless, B was an orphan at the age 12 or 13 and when Fr. Reddy knew about B’s pitiable condition he welcomed B to stay with him in Alfonso’s rectory.  B was able to continue high school and was even sent to college. Though B would comment about Fr. Reddy’s being strict, B had many things to be grateful to Fr. Reddy. B’s most memorable with Fr. Reddy was when B runaway because B was reprimanded. As it happened, Fr. Reddy track down B’s whereabouts and merely say to B,  “Magtapos ka muna ng pag-aaral bago ka lumayas” . It was an eye opener to B, so, B went back on Fr. Reddy’s custody until B got a bachelor’s degree. B had gone a long way and all these years it was Fr. Reddy who make a big difference on B’s life. And B was not the only one; Fr. Reddy had been helping indigent youths get hold of their goals for a long time. That what makes Fr. Reddy a “father” to so many. So truly, that his sudden lost would be missed.   

Last Saturday at Fr. Reddy’s wake, I felt the lost of a great priest. The large number of people who went at the Bishop’s House was proof of his notable contribution to his community. As this lady speaker briefly says after the mass, “Job well done Sir, job well done Fr. Reddy!” . I recall how he look like on his casket, he was like sleeping soundly as everyone bid farewell to him. He’s rested for he knows everything will be all right.

Eternal rest grants to him O Lord.

 

Leave a Reply

