The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

Su Zhou, a new favorite!

Su Zhou Dimsum had been on my list a couple of weeks ago but had to skip it again and again because we always preferred to drive to Makati on weekends. So, last Friday after my date with David’s we have no excuse to let goes the chance considering that it’s a few turns away.

I remember voting for this eatery at the Nescafe’s Gold Spot Awards in 2009 even without sampling any of its dishes yet. I guess it sounded so authentic for me 🙂 . And even before this dining event I had been peeking on different blogs who made good reviews about the food, mostly what to order on the first time. It always helps to choose easily and grab a bite without delay!

I was expecting a Chinese-inspired theme all over the eatery but it wasn’t at all, in fact it’s more of homey and native set-up that is far comfortable. The menu is very easy to browse as well and since I have already something in mind we only added some more and started our feast.

Xiao Long Bao (Shanghai Soup Dumplings) P100 is house specialty, a must order uniquely for seasoned first timers.

I have to agree that it was so deli of its kind and because all I wanted is to sample it right away I failed to observe the step-by-step guide in eating the dumplings (as written by Ding Tai Fung of rasamalaysia.com) .

As DTF writes, it should be dipped in ginger vinegar sauce. Oh, I miss to recognize the ginger because it looked like an “atchara” to me. And husband mistaken the black vinegar as soy sauce 😦 . I got one step correct, not to break the dumpling skin 😀 . I didn’t because I know the soup would come out and I will spoil the wonder of these small buns.

Taiwan Beef Noodle with Soup P175, the broth is of quality and I love that they serve it piping hot.

Fish Tofu in Tausi P230, I always loved tofu in Chinese eatery because they serve it fresh and flavorful. By the way, the serving is good enough for two.

And our staple, the Su Zhou Fried Rice P130. It was flavored with chorizo, which gave it an extra appetizing taste.

We didn’t miss out ordering Mango Sago P100. I was a bit disappointed when SD failed to impress me with their creation even though the serving was generous. It lacks the thick mango crush and the pearls were gluey so it doesn’t mix at all with the puree.

Thank you for the Burp!

Su Zhou dinner was one of the most satisfying dinners to count. And for this, it deserves a second visit or maybe third, fourth and fifth to go.

 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

SU ZHOU DIMSUM
837 A. Mabini St. cor. Araullo St.Mandaluyong City,
Telephone: +632 721-6105
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

