The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

The 60th Birthday!

The weekend that has just passed was tiring yet it was one remarkable weekend to recollect.

We celebrate my Tatay’s 60th Birthday with a blast –literally drink and eat all you can, and we made happy guests went home with something to remember about this day 😀

Despite the heavy rains and flooding on Friday night husband and I brave the roads to get those miniatures I was eyeing in a liquor store in Gil Puyat. Only to find out that the stocks were numbered 😦 . I settled for two dozens, assorted and a bit expensive –I feel I was charge too much bluntly because I have no choice.

And because rain was continuous, we overslept and reached Sunvalley Paranaque two hours behind the scheduled pick up. I worried that the lechon I ordered from the General’s wouldn’t be crusty and hot by the time we reached Cavite.

In no time, we reached home and get on with all the preparations, which my Nanay was completely supervising. We didn’t served lunch this time and invited everyone for merienda cena.

 

Now, be my guest as you read along –it was a birthday bash!

The lechon I ordered from General’s Lechon came with a reminder that says: ‘Better not to chop the lechon until it is ready to be eaten’ so I abide.

I take advantage of the time to get photos while it’s still untouched.

And I manned the chopping and was surprised on how crispy the skin was even after hours. I can’t help but get a bite of it from time to time. It was so tasty!

Like what I read on blogs who made a kitchen taste test on this lechon brand, I followed the chopping directions –crisscross the skin and serve the skin separately from the meat. Everyone loved the skin so I saved some for late comers 🙂 .

 

The spread –pork siomai, lumpiang shanghai, pancit bihon, dinuguan at puto, ground pork (cooked menudo-style) and pandesal, lomi and boiled egg, carioca, palitaw, kutsinta, biko, lechon, buko pandan, sansrival and chiffon cake.

This cake from Iko’s Bakeshop -Savemore Supermarket branch (Tagaytay-Mendez crossing)

 

My Tatay’s guests were former classmates, office friends and bosses and relatives from both sides. And everyone wished my Tatay healthiness and that he may consider another three years in service. Well, he’s having second thoughts right now about his retirement and I wished he would come up with a sensible decision soon.

Tatay, as you marked this birthday I want you to know how grateful I am to have a father like you. And as the years come and go, I appreciate you more –your love, your care, your kindness and your strength. May you continue to give us purpose and direction in making the hardest decisions.

Happy Birthday and may there be many more so we can enjoy a blissful occasion every year!

 

Tatay’s Birthday Last Year

 

P.S. Thank you to everyone who made it last Saturday 🙂

 

4 responses to “The 60th Birthday!

  1. docgelo June 30, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    ms. elna, being an expat who exerts efforts to thrive in a town with less pork, i just died when i saw the photos of your lechon! 🙂

  2. docgelo June 30, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    ps : may your tatay live longer, healthier and happier!

  3. january July 1, 2011 at 10:03 am

    lechon would always be the star of every occasion, try General’s Lechon when you come home docgelo, sulit na sulit sya!

    and thank you for those wishes for my Tatay 😀

  4. Pingback: general’s lechon | The Month of the Heart of Winter

Leave a Reply

