The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

Heavenly Spiral Buffet

Two Sunday’s ago husband and I dated and splurged some on Manilas most fashionable eatery –Spiral at Sofitel Philippine Plaza.

We arrived at Spiral 30 minutes earlier for the dinner buffet so it gave us more time to relax and be ready for the gastronomic adventure waiting in front of us.

Hotel buffets are concept restaurant with multi-cuisine open cooking station. You can choose your liking from Japanese, Chinese, Korean, Indian, Filipino, Italian and more 🙂 .

It was heaven at first sight when I saw this seafood section.

Husband and I started alternately getting our food and indulged on the spread the entire dinnertime.

I skipped the soup and bread station

And started with seafood platter and California maki.

I passed on cold cuts,

And decided for shrimp tempura and asparagus

How can I say no to this prime rib?

And perfectly grilled lamb chops…

 

A slice of pizza landed on my plate but I consume it right away

Husband and I tried pasta but we find nothing special about this cooking.

There were too many too choose from left and right and because I was having a hard time deciding every time I would make a round, I stick to seafood 🙂 .

And saving room for the dessert station is must!

I sampled that small truffle cake, fruit tart and crème brulee was a treat, an indulgence I may call. It has the right custard base topped with contrasting layers of caramel and burnt.

I cannot pass on the crepe station, so, even if I can already feel my full tummy, hehehe…I had a half serving of mango crepe, which I consume with pistachio ice cream on top.

Husband was busy with his own creations too and I didn’t want to spoil his appetite so I kept photo of my plates only. Nevertheless, I can tell he enjoyed everything 🙂 .

We give in after 3 hours of mouthful serving of the hearty dishes. Burp!

By the way, I got our voucher at 50% off from CashCash Pinoy last year and saved it for our birthday month.  It was a real deal!

My only regret about this experience is leaving my DSLR at home (I read some reviews that taking photo of the food and cooking stations are not allowed…). I envy those armed with powerful cameras that night. Probably I need to watch out for more great deals so husband and I can enjoy the best of fine dining.

Spiral – Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

CCP Complex Roxas Boulevard , Pasay City , 1300 MANILA,  PHILIPPINES
6 responses to “Heavenly Spiral Buffet

  1. isparkleen June 11, 2011 at 11:47 pm

    HI!

    I came across your blog while searching about Spiral. About the taking of photos, since you mentioned there were others with “powerful cameras,” does that mean it’s allowed na?

    Thanks so much! 🙂

    • january June 12, 2011 at 1:30 am

      i didn’t bother to ask anyone because I was with a point and shoot then and was discreetly taking pictures of the widespread however, even before the buffet starts at 6pm there were about two or three guest taking pictures openly armed with their DSLR. So I think its okay so long as you don’t get in the way of other guest 😀

  2. Pingback: sumptuous lunch at Dusit Thani’s Basix « The Month of the Heart of Winter

  3. Pingback: Yakimix Sushi•Smokeless Grill•Restaurant « The Month of the Heart of Winter

  4. Rian Misha (@RianMisha) October 19, 2012 at 5:48 pm

    I love your photos, they all look amazing and delicious! 😛 Well, Spiral is re-opening its doors once again this November and I can’t wait to go there. I even joined Sofitel Manila’s photo contest on Facebook to get a chance to win free dinner buffet for 10! Maybe you may want to join, here is the link: http://www.facebook.com/SofitelManila/app_372342376178592.

    • january October 19, 2012 at 6:20 pm

      hi, rian, i’ve heard its grand opening is on nov 8. i’m equally excited to dine there once again 🙂
      about the ongoing photo contest, i’ve seen it also only that i despise contest when it says the winner will be named by votes 😦

      anyway, good luck i hope you get the number one slot!

Leave a Reply

