The Month of the Heart of Winter

the new leaf of January is my Month!

grounds for your garden

Starbucks introduced Grounds For Your Garden in 1995 as one of their Recycling and Reducing Waste campaign, which offers customers complimentary five-pound (2.27-kilogram) bags of used coffee grounds to enrich garden soil. And where commercial composting is available, many stores are able to divert other food waste and coffee grounds from the landfill as well.

 

And it was last December only when I found out this Starbucks significant moved in reducing waste. It was my sister, Che, who told me about it during one of our coffee session in Tagaytay. However, being away in the rural area, gardening was never been a serious diversion. I have one potted plant, which my mother gave me before we got married. It’s a money plant, which I am keeping until now for fear that money would go away forever if the plant would die 🙂

One of city living’s challenge to everyone is how we could help save planet earth, what green practices can we do, etc and so on. There are many campaigns but most of the times we fail to notice or rather practice. And then the question, how can you help? Okay, let me grow some flowering plants pretty soon with the help of this used coffee grounds. I am dead serious this time; I will try to buy some pots during the weekend.

Let me give back love to Starbucks for this environmental commitment in building a greener place to live in. Wish I could chance again a bag of this “green” material, the early bird catches the worms 🙂

Leave a Reply

